Darius & Twig by Walter Dean Myers | Book Review

I have had Darius & Twig by Walter Dean Myers on my shelf for years. Oddly enough I never ended up unhauling it, as I really did intend to read it someday. Well, that day has come! You see, I have been prioritizing reading more diversely and then un-hauling those books and getting them into the […]

One Of The Good Ones by Maika Moulite and Maritza Moulite | Audiobook Review

Why Did I Listen To One Of The Good Ones by Maika Moulite and Maritza Moulite? Honestly, I ended up listening to One Of The Good Ones by Maika Moulite and Maritza Moulite because I stumbled across the audiobook on Hoopla rather than physically read it. And straight up, I do not regret that decision one little […]

5 Verse Books For Beginners

I used to be really intimidated by books that are in verse. You see, I thought maybe I wouldn’t like them as they didn’t follow typical prose structure. Yet as it turns out, once I gave them a shot, I was hooked. These five books are excellent for anyone looking to dip a toe into […]

The Backups by Alex de Campi | Book Review

Why Did I Read The Backups by Alex de Campi? The Backups by Alex de Campi was a random book picked from my Macmillan reviewer box. Initially I wasn’t sure when I was going to read it, but as it turns out this was the first I read and what a good choice. Part of […]

When The Stars Lead To You by Ronni Davis | Book Review

I love a good contemporary book, especially when the comparisons are in the vein of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen. When The Stars Lead To You by Ronni Davis was a single day read for me. Davis’s debut kept me compelled from page 1 to page 394. I did see that not everyone felt the same […]

Yolk by Mary H.K. Choi | Book Review

Yolk by Mary H.K. Choi really slaps. I had no idea what I was really getting into when I started it, but wow, I am blown away. FYI, this is a really heavy book, so be sure you are in the headspace for that going into it. I was drawn to Yolk by the bright yellow […]