The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes | Book Review

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes | Book ReviewThe Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Also by this author: The Naturals, Killer Instinct, The Lovely and the Lost
Series: The Inheritance Games #1
on September 1, 2020
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Mysteries & Detective Stories, Social Themes, Class Differences, Romance, Contemporary, New Experience, Thrillers & Suspense
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover, eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9781368053242
Goodreads
five-stars

Don't miss this New York Times bestselling "impossible to put down" (Buzzfeed) novel with deadly stakes, thrilling twists, and juicy secrets--perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.
Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why -- or even who Tobias Hawthorne is.
To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man's touch -- and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes. Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a conwoman, and he's determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather's last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive.

I love that Jennifer Lynn Barnes is such a prolific writer – spanning all different sorts of YA types. It is awesome that her books do NOT consist of recycled plots. I was extremely excited for The Inheritance Games because the plot summary gave me The Westing Game vibes. Luckily, JLB delivered on my expectations, in fact, exceed them.

The Inheritance Games opens up with main character Avery Marie Grambs called into the principal’s office for scoring too high on a physics test. She’s suspected of cheating because she comes from a poor family and really stays in the background. However, Avery definitely just studied and has a plan. She’s going to get scholarships and become an actuary who works remote while traveling the world. Avery’s plans get completely flipped however, when she’s called into the principal’s office again. This time, a well dressed stranger with silver eyes tells her that she’s wanted for the reading of billionaire Tobias Hawthorne’s will.

Along with her sister, Libby, Avery flies to Texas for the will reading. There she discovers that she is the sole heir to forty-six point two billion dollars. Hawthorne did not leave everything to his grandsons or daughters as expected. Rather, it all goes to a relative stranger. This makes Avery a target. Grayson believes she’s a con artist who might as well have stolen the inheritance. Meanwhile, his brother, Jameson, believes this is just another of his grandfather’s puzzles to figure out. There’s also the other two Hawthorne grandsons – Xander who is basically a genius and Nash who is an older cowboy type who is quite protective. Avery is up to the challenge of solving the puzzle of why she was picked. Let The Inheritance Games begin.

I LOVED this book. After reading, I immediately went to goodreads and added the sequel to my TBR list. The chapters are wicked short. So, this is such a fast read. I was worried I wouldn’t be sucked in. However, that assumption proved wrong. There’s so many twists and turns in this book. I loved each new secret that was revealed. Also, I could not stop myself from flipping to the end. However, without context I didn’t really get the answers. I had to just keep reading. Avery and the Hawthorne brothers are excellent characters. Each are distinct and legit, I loved them so much. The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes was genius and the PERFECT book to end 2020 with.

five-stars
The following two tabs change content below.
April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Latest posts by April (Books&Wine) (see all)

About April (Books&Wine)

April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Comments

  1. This book sounds really smart. I would love to see how the puzzle is solved. Will definitely pick this one up this weekend.

    Thanks for a great review!

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: