The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert | Audiobook Review

I received this book for free from Library, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert | Audiobook ReviewThe Hazel Wood: Chapter Sampler by Melissa Albert
Series: The Hazel Wood #1
Narrator: Rebecca Soler
Length: 10 Hours 31 Minutes
Published by Flatiron Books on October 31, 2017
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy, Contemporary, Dark Fantasy, Fairy Tales & Folklore
Pages: 368
Format: Audiobook, eARC
Source: Library, Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9781250194015
Goodreads
three-stars

This excerpt from The Hazel Wood—Melissa Albert's fiercely stunning contemporary fantasy perfect for fans of The Magicians—contains the first six chapters.Everyone is talking about The Hazel Wood!

“Thoroughly, creepily captivating.” —Kristin Cashore, author of Graceling and Jane, Unlimited “This book is pure imagination candy.” —Stephanie Garber, author of Caraval “Destined to be a classic.” —Kami Garcia, author of The Lovely Reckless “Absolutely breathtaking.” —Seanan McGuire, author of Every Heart a Doorway “Terrifying, magical, and surprisingly funny.” —Jennifer Niven, author of All the Bright Places “Unlike anything else I’ve ever read before.” —Evelyn Skye, author of The Crown’s Game “A part of me will never leave The Hazel Wood.” —Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere “An elegant dark fairy tale, full of the power of story.” —Kat Howard, author of Roses and Rot

Why Did I Listen To The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert?

The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert has the most deliciously dark intricate cover. You all know how I cannot resist a good cover, right? So, upon seeing this cover I KNEW I had to read this book. Plus, there’s the whole fairy tale allusion thing. I am SOLD on that without a doubt. Now, as I am whipping through my outstanding Netgalley queue, I knew I had to borrow this one from the library. I thought this would be an engaging book to listen to while on my commute.

What’s The Story Here?

Melissa Albert’s The Hazel Wood follows seventeen year old Alice who has grown up always living with her mother and having zero clues about who her father is. Alice and her mother have had a bit of bad luck that kind of follows them wherever they go. They never say anywhere long enough to put down roots. In fact, they are always on the road. However, Alice’s mom meets this wealthy man and marries him. She gains a stepsister who is not evil. Alice ends up going to kind of a good school where she meets this boy, Ellery, who is obsessed with the stories about the Hinterlands that Alice’s grandmother wrote. So, okay, one day Alice’s mom goes missing. Alice believes it has something to do with her grandmother and the Hinterlands, so she enlists Ellery’s help to find her mother.

Alice is about to uncover some family secrets. She just might not like what she finds. You see, Alice is going to find out the reason why she and her mother have all this bad luck. Plus, she gets to learn the truth about her parentage.

How Did I Like The Hazel Wood?

Eh, I liked The Hazel Wood alright. I don’t think I will be continuing with the series. However, it really is quite imaginative. The book was a bit darker than what I had initially expected. Just, for me, I found myself not entirely connecting with the characters or really caring. Still, there is definitely a big audience for this book. For example, if you are the kind of person who does not want to read a book with romance or a book centered around romantic/sexual relationships, you will probably like this book.

How’s The Narration?

The audiobook is narrated by Rebecca Soler. I’ve listened to books narrated by her before and never really had an issue. Nor, however, do I have an issue now with the narration of this audiobook. I listened to it via Overdrive (shoutout to the greatest library system I have ever had the privilege to be a member of). This is an audiobook that was just fine listening to on a higher speed. Overall, I do not really have a strong opinion about this audiobook except that it is OKAY and not my favorite.

Other reviews of The Hazel Wood:

Purchase or Preview The Hazel Wood:

three-stars
About April (Books&Wine)

April is 30 years old and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and baby, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: