All The Stars And Teeth by Adalyn Grace | Book Review

I received this book for free from Library, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

All The Stars And Teeth by Adalyn Grace | Book ReviewAll the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace
Series: All The Stars And Teeth #1
Also in this series: All the Tides of Fate
Also by this author: All the Tides of Fate
Published by Imprint on February 4, 2020
Genres: Action & Adventure, Epic, Fantasy, Pirates, Young Adult Fiction
Pages: 384
Format: eARC, Hardcover
Source: Library, Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
“Fierce and unrelenting...Do yourself a favor and get lost in this beautiful book!” —Tomi Adeyemi, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Children of Blood and Bone
Set in a kingdom where danger lurks beneath the sea, mermaids seek vengeance with song, and magic is a choice, Adalyn Grace’s All the Stars and Teeth is a thrilling fantasy for fans of Stephanie Garber’s Caraval and Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series.
She will reign.
As princess of the island kingdom Visidia, Amora Montara has spent her entire life training to be High Animancer—the master of souls. The rest of the realm can choose their magic, but for Amora, it’s never been a choice. To secure her place as heir to the throne, she must prove her mastery of the monarchy’s dangerous soul magic.
When her demonstration goes awry, Amora is forced to flee. She strikes a deal with Bastian, a mysterious pirate: he’ll help her prove she’s fit to rule, if she’ll help him reclaim his stolen magic.
But sailing the kingdom holds more wonder—and more peril—than Amora anticipated. A destructive new magic is on the rise, and if Amora is to conquer it, she’ll need to face legendary monsters, cross paths with vengeful mermaids, and deal with a stowaway she never expected... or risk the fate of Visidia and lose the crown forever.
I am the right choice. The only choice. And I will protect my kingdom.
An Imprint Book
“Vicious and alluring, All the Stars and Teeth is a force to be reckoned with." —Hafsah Faizal, author of We Hunt the Flame “Jam-packed with swashbuckling adventure, swoonworthy romance, and dark, lush magic.” —Christine Lynn Herman, author of The Devouring Gray“If an epic sea fantasy filled with strange pirates and vengeful mermaids speaks to your interests, well...we may have found your favorite book ever....a tale of magic and second chances that’s fresh and thrilling in equal measure.” –Entertainment Weekly
One of Buzzfeed's "Most Anticipated YA Books of 2020"

Even though I am scared of the ocean and deep water, I love books set on the high seas. All The Stars And Teeth by Adalyn Grace was right up my alley. This YA debut is a unique fantasy story about a princess who will do anything to save her kingdom. I simply ate this one up with a spoon – reading so quickly. I was unable to set this book down until I turned the last page. It was THAT compelling.

All The Stars And Teeth is about Amora Montara, Princess of Visidia. Amora has been raised to practice soul magic which is limited to the royal family as it is so dangerous. However, practicing it keeps the beast at bay and her people protected. Amora is is prepared to demonstrate her skill and be initiated into becoming High Animancer and eventually the ruler of Visidia. Unfortunately, she messes up her ceremony and is thrown in jail after. With the help of a pirate named Bastian, Amora is on her way throughout the kingdom comprised of different islands and magics to confront a threat to her kingdom and people as well as to prove she deserves to rule.

It’s hard to explain why but All The Stars And Teeth gave me Poison Study vibes. I think maybe it was the different magics that was why. Regardless, I thoroughly enjoyed my time with this book. As a matter of fact, I cannot wait to head back for the sequel. I will probably pick up anything Adalyn Grace writes from here on out. Amora’s journey and unraveling of the secrets surrounding her kingdom is excellent and well crafted. Each morsel is parceled out in a way that is not overwhelming but also not too slow.

I loved Amora’s romance with Bastian and the undeniable chemistry. Additionally, I loved Amora’s fiance, Ferrick. His magic and role are so well written. He has his own growth and development. Then there’s the mermaid, Vataea, who is so badass and different. The crew, aboard the Keel Haul, form a found family. Their interactions with each other show development of trust as time goes on. The characters really make this book. Also, the setting. The set up is that the kingdom of Visidia is comprised of multiple islands. On each island the people there practice one type of magic. If they were to try multiple magics, the beast would rise up and destroy Visidia. The setting and worldbuilding are immersive. Recommended if you’re in the mood to be transported to a magical island kingdom and really go on a journey.


four-half-stars
The following two tabs change content below.
April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Latest posts by April (Books&Wine) (see all)

About April (Books&Wine)

April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Comments

  1. Sorry I called you Allison on my page, I only just saw that you are called April. I hope it won’t happen again.
    And I see you haven’t done any TTTs lately, so I appreciate it even more that you visited my TTT. Thank you so much.
    Marianne @ Let’s Read recently posted..Spell the Month in Books – SeptemberMy Profile

  2. I remember seeing a lot a of buzz about this one when it first came out. I only read the first Poison Study but unfortunately don’t remember much about it.

  3. I too really enjoyed this one. I liked the darkness, and that cast of characters is amazing. The sequel is just as strong too.

Trackbacks

  1. […] the Tides of Fate by Adalyn Grace Also by this author: All the Stars and Teeth Series: All The Stars And Teeth #2 Also in this series: All the Stars and […]

%d bloggers like this: