It’s Kind Of A Cheesy Love Story by Lauren Morrill | Book Review

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

It’s Kind Of A Cheesy Love Story by Lauren Morrill | Book ReviewIt's Kind of a Cheesy Love Story by Lauren Morrill
Also by this author: Being Sloane Jacobs, The Trouble with Destiny, , My Unscripted Life, Better Than the Best Plan
on March 9, 2021
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Romance, Romantic Comedy, Lifestyles, City & Town Life, Clean & Wholesome
Pages: 256
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9780374306229
Goodreads
five-stars

A delicious love story with all the toppings, Lauren Morrill's It's Kind of a Cheesy Love Story is a contemporary YA rom-com about love, friendship, and pizza, perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han.
After her mother gave birth to her in the bathroom of a local pizzeria, Beck has been given the dubious privilege of having minor fame, free pizza for life, and a guaranteed job when she turns sixteen—a job she unfortunately can’t afford to turn down.
Now she's stuck with her geeky co-workers instead of taking Instagram-ready shots with her best friends (and her epic crush).
But maybe the pizza people aren't all bad. Maybe that pizza delivery guy is kind of cute. And maybe there's a way to make this Bathroom Baby thing work for her. Because when disaster strikes the beloved pizza place that's started to feel like home, she's going to need a miracle—one that might even mean bringing her two worlds together.

I brake for books like It’s Kind Of A Cheesy Love Story by Lauren Morrill. It is everything I wanted in a book and more. There is pizza and wonderfully written parents and class and obviously romance. This was the perfect book to pick up for a pick me up. Honestly, I was just so happy by the end of this book and thrilled with the outcome and developments within.

It’s Kind Of A Cheesy Love Story opens up with Beck’s birthday celebration. Every year she celebrates her birthday at the Hot N Crusty pizzeria. There is usually a photo taken for the newspaper. You see, Beck Brix was born in the bathroom of the Hot N Crusty. The owner who is just fantastic, Del, gives Beck free pizza for life as well as the guarantee of a job when she turns 16. Only, Beck doesn’t care for her local fame. She doesn’t love being known as the Pizza Princess and Bathroom Baby. She doesn’t even like pizza all that much. So, as we open the book, Beck is turning 16.

She would rather work anywhere else over the summer, or actually not even have to work like her friend group – essentially the popular rich kids. Alas, Beck needs to work. She was not born with a silver spoon in her mouth. Everything, however, seems to be coming together for Beck. Her crush Mac seems to finally be noticing her. Working at the Hot N Crusty will put a dent in her plans to get with Mac. She’s dreading her upcoming job. But, it turns out, it isn’t as bad as she thought it would be. Beck is getting paid a few dollars above minimum wage. She also really like her coworkers. And well, something just might eventually develop between her and a certain delivery boy.

Like I said, I just LOVED It’s Kind Of A Cheesy Love Story. I’ve read all of Morrill’s books and this is my favorite so far. It gave me real Emma Mills vibes which is such a high compliment. I loved that Beck wasn’t super sure about her future and which college to go to and what to major in. She also is having insecurity regarding her friend group and feels like the odd woman out because she’s not in dance and she’s not wealthy.

I love that Beck grows so much as a character. OH and her parents when they do pop up are wonderful. AND DEL the owner of the Hot N Crusty, he won me over too. And okay, I am not going to spoil the romance for you, but the trope is one of my favorites and I am so over the moon in love with how everything played out in this wonderful book.


five-stars
The following two tabs change content below.
April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.
About April (Books&Wine)

April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: