This Is My America by Kim Johnson | Audiobook Review

I received this book for free from Library, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This Is My America by Kim Johnson | Audiobook ReviewThis Is My America by Kim Johnson
Narrator: Bahni Turpin
Length: 9 Hours 34 Minutes
Published by Random House Children's Books on July 28, 2020
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, People & Places, United States, African American, Social Themes, Prejudice & Racism, Diversity & Multicultural
Pages: 416
Format: Audiobook, eARC
Source: Library, Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9780593118788
Goodreads
five-stars

"Incredible and searing." --Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching yet uplifting first novel that explores the racist injustices in the American justice system.

Every week, seventeen-year-old Tracy Beaumont writes letters to Innocence X, asking the organization to help her father, an innocent Black man on death row. After seven years, Tracy is running out of time--her dad has only 267 days left. Then the unthinkable happens. The police arrive in the night, and Tracy's older brother, Jamal, goes from being a bright, promising track star to a "thug" on the run, accused of killing a white girl. Determined to save her brother, Tracy investigates what really happened between Jamal and Angela down at the Pike. But will Tracy and her family survive the uncovering of the skeletons of their Texas town's racist history that still haunt the present?
Fans of Nic Stone, Tiffany D. Jackson, and Jason Reynolds won't want to miss this provocative and gripping debut.

Why Did I Listen To This Is My America by Kim Johnson?

This Is My America by Kim Johnson is such an important book. The topic it covers is absolutely relevant to the world in which we live and move. I also think, unfortunately, many teens reading it will be able to relate. I knew that I had to read this book. When I saw that the audiobook was narrated by Bahni Turpin, my mind was immediately made up with regards to the format that I would read this book in.

What’s The Story Here?

Tracy Beaumont writes weekly letters to Innocence X which is a program similar to The Innocence Project – where the aim is to free people who have been wrongly convicted. Tracy’s father is an innocent Black man who is waiting on death row and his time is running out. Things go from bad to worse for Tracy when in the middle of the night, the police arrive at her house to arrest her brother Jamal. Unfortunately, Jamal is under suspicion for the murder of a white girl. Jamal is now on the run. Innocence X does end up taking on the case. However, this causes tensions within Tracy’s Texas town to explode – particularly between the police, the people who trust the police, and those who don’t. Tracy plans to get to the bottom of what has happened, but will also uncover some family secrets along the way.

What Did I Think Of This Is My America by Kim Johnson?

This Is My America explores the unjust incarceration of Black people in America. It goes into depth on just how unfair the criminal justice system can be – particularly when you are poor and of color. As it turns out, justice is not blind, as much as we wish it would be. I felt like Kim Johnson’s book is an honest and clear eyed look at the system. It does not pull any punches. Granted, I am glad that it ends on a hopeful note and everything plays out okay. Also, Tracy was interesting. I liked her passion and how she even runs know your rights classes.


How’s The Narration?

As I mentioned before, the audiobook of This Is My America is narrated by Bahni Turpin. It is 9 hours 34 minutes long. Turpin is a total professional in her narration as expected. She’s a great narrator and absolutely nails this book. This audiobook is engaging. A must listen.

five-stars
The following two tabs change content below.
April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Latest posts by April (Books&Wine) (see all)

About April (Books&Wine)

April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Comments

  1. This is one of my favorite performances by Bahni Turpin!

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: