Girl In The Rearview Mirror by Kelsey Rae Dimberg | Book Review

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Girl In The Rearview Mirror by Kelsey Rae Dimberg | Book ReviewGirl in the Rearview Mirror by Kelsey Rae Dimberg
Published by William Morror on April 14, 2020
Pages: 400
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9781509895847
Goodreads
two-half-stars

A twisty, page-turning debut thriller from Kelsey Rae Dimberg, Girl in the Rearview Mirror is a story about privilege and power, family and obligation, ambition and complicity, and the pull of the past on the present; perfect for fans of Jane Harper, Megan Abbott, Attica Locke and Laura Lippman.Desperate to put her past in the rearview mirror, Finn Hunt leaves the Midwest for Phoenix, Arizona, where no one knows her story. While she's working a dead-end job, a chance meeting with Philip Martin, son of a prominent US Senator, leads Finn to a position as nanny for Amabel, his precocious four-year-old daughter. Quickly seduced into the Martins' privileged world, Finn can almost believe she belongs there, almost forget the dark past that haunts her. Then, in the stifling heat of a desert summer as the Senator's re-election looms, a strange woman begins to follow Finn, claiming a connection to Philip and threatening to expose the family to scandal. As Finn tries to protect Amabel, and shield the Martins, she's inadvertently drawn deeper and deeper into their buried secrets. The family trusts Finn, for now, but it will only take one mistake for everything she holds dear - the Martins' world, her new life - to fall apart . . .

Girl In The Rearview Mirror by Kelsey Rae Dimberg appealed to me because I’ve been interested in trying more thrillers. I tend to like thrillers that are written by women and star women. This book is about power and conspiracy as well as secrets. This book took me about a week to read. I find myself on the fence with regards to recommending it.

Dimberg’s debut stars Finn Hunt who was working a boring office job in order to make headway on her student loan debt. She ends up charming the son of the senator for Arizona and being hired as the nanny for Phillip’s daughter, Amabel. Finn finds herself dazzled by the Martin family. Marina, Phillip’s wife, is elegant and essentially runs the art museum. Phillip makes investing decisions and is expected to run for senator once his father retires. Unfortunately, a series of events causes the shine to dull — particularly when Finn is approached by a young woman who claims to be pregnant with Phillip’s baby. From there, a series of dominos falls and we also learn that Finn has got some secrets of her own that she’s been hiding.

Unfortunately, I never really connected with any of the characters in Girl In The Rearview Mirror. This lead to the book being a slow read for me. I’ll admit, it is very plot driven which is fine. There’s quite a bit of action. Still, I never thought Finn’s loyalty to the Martin family was all that warranted. They treat her like crap once everything goes down. Also, there’s some trauma that I didn’t think was handled super well. I honestly could take or leave this book and scrolling through goodreads, looks like I am not the only one. It is not the best and it is not the worst of the thrillers that are out there.


two-half-stars
The following two tabs change content below.
April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.
About April (Books&Wine)

April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: