B*Witch by Paige McKenzie and Nancy Olin | Audiobook Review

I received this book for free from Library, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

B*Witch by Paige McKenzie and Nancy Olin | Audiobook ReviewB*WITCH by Paige McKenzie, Nancy Ohlin
Narrator: Paige McKenzie
Length: 8 Hours 53 Minutes
on July 7, 2020
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Social Themes, Friendship, Fantasy, Wizards & Witches, Coming of Age, Girls & Women
Pages: 304
Format: Audiobook, Hardcover
Source: Library, Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9781368045933
Goodreads
two-stars

When the new girl in school joins a group of teen witches, she and her friends must team up with a rival coven to take down a mysterious killer.New girl and secret witch Iris just wants to get through her first day of school without a panic attack. The last thing she expects is to be taken in by a coven of three witches: soft-spoken Greta, thoughtful and musical Ridley, and fiery and spirited Binx. They may be the first witches Iris has met IRL, but their coven is not alone in their small northwestern town.The Triad is the other coven at their school. When the Triad's not using spells to punish their exes or break up happy couples for fun, they practice dark magic. The two covens have a rivalry stretching all the way back to junior high.When tragedy strikes and one of their own is murdered, the rival covens must band together to find out who is responsible before it's too late. Someone's anti-witch ideology has turned deadly . . . and one of them is next.With an inclusive cast of teen witches who leap off the page with style, attitude, and charm, B*Witch is a bingeable read perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Mean Girls alike.

Why Did I Listen To B*Witch by Paige McKenzie and Nancy Olin?

So to be quite transparent, B*Witch by Paige McKenzie and Nancy Olin showed up unsolicited in my mailbox. Given that I am generally a fan of books with witches, I decided to keep it on my shelves and give it a shot when the whim hit. However, it wasn’t really a priority book for me. I came across the audiobook on Hoopla and made the decision that it would be a good time to listen to this book. Especially because then I could unhaul it and move on to the next book.

What’s The Story Here?

B*Witch by Paige McKenzie and Nancy Olin is basically contemporary but with witches. I am not super sure how to classify it. Anyways, the story revolves around a diverse cast of characters which is actually awesome. There’s Iris who is the new girl at school who ends up being taken in by a coven of three witches. There’s Greta who is quiet. Also, there is Ridley who is a trans girl who also happens to be very musical. And finally, there is Binx who is tempestuous. These girls aren’t the only witches.

There’s another coven in town called the Triad. They do things like get revenge on exes and try to get between different couples. Oh and they use dark magic. There’s a definite rivalry there. However, when a local witch dies, the two covens have to come together and figure out what happened. The anti-witch ideology means no one is safe. FYI, there’s a group called anti-ma which means anti-magic and it does place the young witches in danger.

How Did I Like B*Witch?

B*Witch was an okay read. Honestly it didn’t leave much of an impression. The diverse cast was great. However because there were quite a few main characters, I found it hard to pinpoint one to connect with. I really would have liked focus on maybe one or two main characters. The plot line is not bad and the unraveling of who the murderer is was well done too. However, at this point, I won’t be going on to the next book as it just doesn’t seem a priority for me. I do think that actual teenagers will greatly enjoy this book though.

How’s The Narration?

The audiobook of B*Witch is narrated by Paige McKenzie. It’s 8 Hours 53 Minutes long and I did listen to it at sped up to 1.75X. Overall, the narration was okay. I didn’t think there was a ton of differentiation between the character voices. Still, this was easy to follow. It just didn’t make a huge impression is all.


two-stars
The following two tabs change content below.
April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.
About April (Books&Wine)

April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: