For The Wolf by Hannah Whitten | Book Review

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

For The Wolf by Hannah Whitten | Book ReviewFor the Wolf by Hannah Whitten
Series: Wilderwood #1
Published by Orbit on June 1, 2021
Genres: Action & Adventure, Dark Fantasy, Epic, Fantasy, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 480
Format: ARC, eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9780316592796
Goodreads
two-stars

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!
The first daughter is for the Throne.The second daughter is for the Wolf.
For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark, sweeping debut fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn't the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.
As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose—to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he'll return the world's captured gods.
Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can't control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can't hurt those she loves. Again.
But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse. And if she doesn't learn how to use it, the monsters the gods have become will swallow the Wilderwood—and her world—whole.
"A brilliant dark fantasy debut!" —Jodi Picoult, NYT bestselling author

For The Wolf by Hannah Whitten has a cover that is like catnip to me. Looking at that cover of the red contrasted with the green and white of the Wilderwood and aesthetically, I am sold. Then we have the tagline about two sisters, one is for the throne and one is for the wolf. SIGN ME UP. So, suffice to say, I was so over the moon excited going into this book. Apparently, I may have psyched myself up a little too much. Maybe my expectations were just a little too high.

Valleydan is a kingdom set on the edge of the Wilderwood, an enchanted wood that stands sentinel against the shadowland. The ruling family of Valleydan has the expectation that when there are two daughters in the family the eldest will sit on the throne. The second daughter is intended to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wilderwood. There is hope that if the sacrifice is good enough that the five lost kings of legend will return — they are gods to the people. Red is the Second Daughter and as For The Wolf  opens, she is preparing to go to the Wilderwood. Her sister Neve is not handling this well, however, Red is resigned to her fate.

Imagine Red’s surprise when the Wolf isn’t exactly how she thought. Rather, he is a man named Eammon who has the power of the Wilderwood flowing through his veins. Red does not immediately die as expected. As it turns out she has some of the power of the Wilderwood as well. And so, we learn all about the Wilderwood and Eammon’s purpose as well as a few secondary characters in the Wilderwood. On the outside, Neve is overcome with grief for Red and not making some smart decisions which will have a big impact to come.

Straight up, this book was kind of a drag for me to read. The pacing of For The Wolf is extremely slow. It feels like nothing happens for 50 pages and then finally a piece of action. However, the action only lasts for like a few pages then it is back to Red’s thoughts and obsessing about Eammon. I genuinely was so bored. Still, the book is quite atmospheric and you do get a strong sense of the Wilderwood. I just didn’t think that was enough for me to really love this book. Maybe if I had read it when I had undivided attention, I might have enjoyed it more. Overall though, this book did not really keep my attention. I do think I’ll check out For The Throne, but via the library so I do not feel an obligation.


two-stars
The following two tabs change content below.
April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.
About April (Books&Wine)

April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Comments

  1. I FEEL YOU APRIL. I was bored too and did not feel any connection to Red or Eammon.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: