Freaky In Fresno by Laurie Boyle Crompton | Audiobook Review

I received this book for free from Library, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Freaky In Fresno by Laurie Boyle Crompton | Audiobook ReviewFreaky in Fresno by Laurie Boyle Crompton
Narrator: Madison Lawrence
Length: 8 Hours 16 Minutes
Published by Blink on February 11, 2020
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Social Themes, Friendship, Coming of Age, Romance, Clean & Wholesome, Performing Arts, Film
Pages: 352
Format: Audiobook, ARC
Source: Library, Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9780310767312
Goodreads
three-stars

Influencers. Movie nerds. Beauty queens. And one pink convertible. Have you ever wondered what it would be like to spend a day in her shoes? Two estranged cousins—geeky horror movie fanatic Ricki and makeup guru Lana—accidentally switch bodies for a fateful summer road trip that is part Freaky Friday, part romcom, and all heart.
Ricki has one goal: save the Starlight Drive-in movie theater from going dark forever. Okay, make that two goals … she may also want a first kiss from her cinema-rescuing partner and major crush, Jake. Lana definitely has only one goal: grow her online makeup channel to keep her momager off her back, even if the posts attract ugly internet trolls.
The two cousins couldn’t be more different, but their opposite personalities come crashing to a head when their aunt gifts the girls a vintage cotton-candy-pink convertible. To share. Ricki wants the convertible for the drive-in’s grand reopening, but it’s the same day as Digifest, a huge event where Lana needs to shine. After a major fight and a minor electric shock while wrestling over the wheel, Ricki wakes up as Lana, and Lana wakes up as Ricki.
Ricki and Lana have only a day to un-Freaky Friday themselves, a task made even more difficult as they try to keep up appearances on Lana’s channel and with Ricki’s hopefully-soon-to-be-kissed crush. But it turns out experiencing a day as each other—with a mini road trip and Chihuahua wrangling—may be the one thing that help the cousins see each other and themselves more clearly.
Freaky in Fresno:

Addresses perennial topics such as the importance of family and friendship with a hilarious Freaky Friday twist
Pays homage to beloved 80s movies, cult horror classics, and scream queens like Jamie Lee Curtis; a must-read for YA readers of all ages
Is written by Laurie Boyle Crompton, author of Pretty in Punxsutawney
Is perfect for fans of Mary Rodgers and Morgan Matson

Why Did I Listen To Freaky In Fresno by Laurie Boyle Crompton?

I listened to Freaky In Fresno by Laurie Boyle Crompton because it was up on Hoopla. There was the added bonus of this being a shorter audiobook. Oh? And I would get it off my shelf once finished and reviewed, as it is so important for me to clear some space. I had decided to hang onto this book rather than unhaul it because I liked the author’s other book Pretty In Punxsutawney. Plus you know I am here for the literary retellings of fun movies.

What’s The Story Here?

Freaky In Fresno is a retelling of Freaky Friday. Ricki has a goal of saving the Starlight Drive-in. She also has a massive crush on Jake, who has the same goal. As it turns out, they are almost set with the goal. The Starlight is about to have a grand reopening! Ricki, FYI, is a horror movie aficionado. She could not be more different from her cousin, Lana. Lana is a beauty influencer who is set to gain a ton of subscribers at this upcoming event called Digifest.

Anyways, Ricki and Lana are gifted a pink convertible by their aunt May to share. As it turns out though, Digifest is the same night as the grand reopening of the Starlight. The two fight over who gets to take the convertible and after an incident, end up switching bodies just like in Freaky Friday. They have to figure out how to switch back, but also, how to make sure both events go off without a hitch.

How Did I Like Freaky In Fresno?

Straight up, this made me want to dig out my old dvd of the Lindsey Lohan version of Freaky Friday. I also enjoyed that there was a reference to Wish Upon A Star which I used to watch on Disney Channel all the time. As for the merits of the book itself, I liked the nostalgic vibes it brought. The story is easy to follow. I did think that Ricki was kind of really rude to Lana just because they had different interests. However, I did find myself rooting for Ricki and Lana. This is a decent palate cleanser of a book, but I don’t really see myself re-reading or revisiting this story.

How’s The Narration?

The audiobook of Freaky In Fresno is narrated by Madison Lawrence. It is 8 hours and 16 minutes long. This is a pretty good audiobook. I liked that the narrator had different voices for Ricki and Lana, so it was easy to differentiate between the switched characters. Overall, I am glad I experienced this book via audio, but again, I don’t really feel any strong attachments or feelings either way.


three-stars
The following two tabs change content below.
April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.
About April (Books&Wine)

April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: