The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco | Audiobook Review

I received this book for free from Library, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco | Audiobook ReviewThe Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco
Also by this author: The Heart Forger
Series: The Bone Witch #1
Also in this series: The Heart Forger
Narrator: Emily Woo Zeller, Will Damron
Length: 12 Hours 10 Minutes
on March 7, 2017
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy, Wizards & Witches, Action & Adventure, Dark Fantasy, Paranormal, Occult & Supernatural
Pages: 432
Format: Audiobook, eARC
Source: Library, Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9781492635833
Goodreads
four-stars

A Publishers Weekly Most Anticipated Young Adult Book of Spring 2017!

In the captivating start to a new, darkly lyrical fantasy series for readers of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir, Tea can raise the dead, but resurrection comes at a price...

Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave, though he may claim otherwise. If there's anything I've learned from him in the years since, it's that the dead hide truths as well as the living.

When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she's a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training.

In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha—one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles...and make a powerful choice.

Memoirs of a Geisha meets The Name of the Wind in this brilliant new fantasy series by Rin Chupeco!

Why Did I Listen To The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco?

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco has comparisons to Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir, which honestly is all you need to do to get me on board. PLUS, essentially when it comes down to it, the main character is a necromancer and I L O V E books about necromancers. Then we add in the fact that this book is a hot audiobook commodity on Overdrive at my library which signals to me that I need to prioritize it on my list. ALSO AND I CANNOT FORGET THIS FACT, I really genuinely respect a whole lot of what Chupeco tweets, which again, means I have to move her book right on up my audiobook TBR.

What’s The Story Here?

The Bone Witch stars this girl named Tea. FYI, Tea is an Asha, or a witch – so to speak. This is actually pretty common in the world that Chupeco has built. Only, uh oh, she’s a Bone Witch. That is kind of a bad thing — it means she can raise the dead. She finds this out when she accidentally brings her dead brother back to life. So, this all happens when Tea is twelve. She’s then taken from her home and sent to live and learn under Mykaela, an older Asha who mentors Tea. She is trying to teach Tea how to control her powers. The book then covers up through Tea being 15 years old with interjections from 17 years old Tea. Also, there is a Bard involved. Oh and Tea gains QUITE a few skills. Epic, my friends, epic.

How Did I Like The Bone Witch?

Hello, yes, I very much ENJOYED the heck out of The Bone Witch. I think Chupeco’s writing flows very well. Tea’s character development is on point. I want to know a whole lot more about this world. Also, what is her plan with those that she raises? WHAT. I am just really looking forward to the next book – The Heart Forger. My library has it via Overdrive Audio, but I also have an ebook. I am not sure which form I will read it in yet.

How’s The Narration?

Emily Woo Zeller and Will Damron narrate The Bone Witch. I LOVE Emily Woo Zeller’s narration. This is going to sound weird, but she has such a gentle sort of voice. She’s very easy to listen to. Plus, I think that she does emotion quite well. So, it was definitely always a pleasure listening to her narrate. As for Will Damron, maybe I have heard him narrate before? If so, let me say he isn’t as memorable as Zeller. Granted, Damron is an okay narrator, but of the two on this audiobook, Zeller is my favorite and is totally an appropriate choice for narrator.

Other reviews of The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco:

Purchase or Preview The Bone Witch Here:

four-stars
About April (Books&Wine)

April is 30 years old and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and baby, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Comments

  1. While I certainly don’t need another series to start, this one really does sound good
    Trisha recently posted..Sweetly by Jackson PearceMy Profile

  2. I tried The Bone Witch last year at some point and really liked where it was going! But I felt like it needed more attention than I could give at the time, so I need to go back and try it again properly. I’ve never read a book about necromancers but I love the sound of Tea! Glad you enjoyed it 😀
    Morgan @ The Bookish Beagle recently posted..Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books I’ve Read in 2018 So FarMy Profile

Trackbacks

  1. […] Heart Forger by Rin Chupeco Also by this author: The Bone Witch Series: The Bone Witch #2 Also in this series: The Bone Witch Narrator: […]

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: