Devils & Thieves by Jennifer Rush | Audiobook Review

I received this book for free from Library, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Devils & Thieves by Jennifer Rush | Audiobook ReviewDevils & Thieves by Jennifer Rush
Series: Devils & Thieves #1
Narrator: Devon Hales
Length: 7 Hours 35 Minutes
on October 3, 2017
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy, Contemporary, Romance, Paranormal, Action & Adventure, Wizards & Witches, Family, Multigenerational
Pages: 336
Format: Audiobook, eARC
Source: Library, Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9780316390866
Goodreads
three-stars

A thrilling new urban fantasy filled with magic and motorcycles from Jennifer Rush, author of the Altered saga--perfect for fans of Beautiful Creatures.Eighteen-year-old Jemmie Carmichael is surrounded by magic in the quiet town of Hawthorne, New York. In her world, magic users are called "kindled," and Jemmie would count herself among them if only she could cast a simple spell without completely falling apart. To make matters worse, she was recently snubbed by Crowe-the dangerous and enigmatic leader of Hawthorne's kindled motorcycle gang, the Devils' League. When the entire kindled community rolls into Hawthorne for an annual festival, a rumor spreads that someone is practicing forbidden magic. Then people start to go missing. With threats closing in from every side, no one can be trusted. Jemmie and Crowe will have to put aside their tumultuous history to find their loved ones, and the only thing that might save them is the very flaw that keeps Jemmie from fully harnessing her abilities. For all her years of feeling useless, Jemmie may just be the most powerful kindled of all. Sexy and suspenseful, Devils and Thieves delivers on the bewitching combination of magic and motorcycle gangs.

Why Did I Listen To Devils & Thieves by Jennifer Rush?

Devils & Thieves by Jennifer Rush sounded like such a cool book. Also? Rush seems to have a great writing reputation. I know quite a few people who were into her previous series. I have not read it, myself. However, you all know how hype works. I decided to give Devils & Thieves a whirl as I had not listened to urban fantasy in a long time. Plus, it is on my Netgalley queue and as I say this over and over and over in my reviews, I am making bettering my ratio a priority. Thanks to Hoopla recently adding this audiobook, it was TIME.

What’s The Story Here?

Jennifer Rush’s Devils & Thieves is the first book in a new series. It follows this teenage girl named Jemmie Carmichael. Jemmie lives in this town called Hawthorne which if I remember correctly is in upstate NY. She is surrounded by magic and people who use magic – called Kindled. However, Jemmie herself does not seem to have the ability to cast spells without feeling pain. What sucks even more, she was dating this guy named Crowe who is a super powerful Kindled. Crowe leads a motorcycle gang called the Devils’ League. This is very important and comes into play with the book later on.

Anyways Hawthorne gets invaded by all kinds of Kindled for a festival. Also, Jemmie’s dad comes back and that’s a big deal because he has been kind of absent. Of course, Jemmie blames herself. Meanwhile, different Kindled people go missing. When one of Jemmie’s best friends go missing, she has to reluctantly team up with Crowe to find out what is going on. Ultimately, it may be that Jemmie has the most powerful magic of all.

How Did I Like Devils & Thieves?

So, as it turns out, I am not much of a biker fan. I suppose there’s not much that is appealing to me about motorcycles. However, I am a fan of books about magic users and was hoping for something unique in that aspect. What I got with Devils & Thieves was a whole lot going on. There’s family drama. There’s some self consciousness issues. Also, there’s a love triangle. Then there’s drama between the Kindled. There is a lot to keep track of while listening to this book. At least, it felt like a lot to me. I think that this was an okay read, but I won’t pursue reading any further in the series. It is just not for me. I’ll stick to Holly Black and Ilona Andrews when I need an urban fantasy fix.

How’s The Narration?

The audiobook is narrated by Devon Hales. Hales is a new to me audiobook narrator. I think she did a nice job with the book. She did not have any annoying voices or habits. I was easily engaged by her reading. On the whole, I think this is a well produced audiobook. It is crisp and professional and easy to understand. I listened to this audiobook at 1.5 and 2x speed depending on mood.

Other reviews of Devils & Thieves by Jennifer Rush:

Purchase or Preview Devils & Thieves:

three-stars
About April (Books&Wine)

April is 30 years old and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and baby, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: