Sing by Vivi Greene | Audiobook Review

I received this book for free from Library, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Sing by Vivi Greene | Audiobook ReviewSing by Vivi Greene
Narrator: Andi Arndt
Length: 6 Hours 18 Minutes
Published by HarperCollins on May 31st 2016
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Performing Arts, Music, Romance, Contemporary, Social Themes, Dating & Sex
Pages: 288
Format: Audiobook, Hardcover
Source: Library, Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9780062459855
Goodreads
four-stars

In this irresistible beach read—perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Zoella's Girl Online—America’s favorite pop goddess flees the spotlight to Maine to recover from her latest breakup. Only to fall head over heels for a down-to-earth local guy and be faced with an impossible decision: him or her music.

After getting her heart shattered for the thousandth time, multiplatinum pop icon Lily Ross is escaping her high-profile, crazy life and heading to an island in middle-of-nowhere Maine with her best friends. She has three months to focus on herself, her music, her new album—anything but guys. This summer is going to be different.

That is . . . until Lily meets sweet and charming Noel Bradley, who is so different from anyone she’s ever dated. Suddenly Lily’s “summer of me” takes an unexpected turn, and she finds herself falling deeper and harder than ever before. But even though Lily loves Noel, she loves her music and her fans, too. And come August when it’s time to leave Maine and go back out on tour, she will be forced to choose between them.

Why Did I Listen To Sing by Vivi Greene?

Sing by Vivi Greene has a cover that really appeals to my minimalist side. It’s just full of white space and simple and subtle and classy. I love that the cover does not have entirely too much going on with it. However, this book was never really on my radar until it came in the mail and then just sat on my shelf. Still, it kept catching my eye. I then decided to make it a priority. It moved like 100 notches up my TBR list when I saw that Sing was on Hoopla, narrated by a reader I like, and a super short listen. So, you combine cover with audiobook elements with the plot elements and I was absolutely on board for this book.

What’s The Story Here?

Sing by Vivi Greene probably has some Taylor Swift-esque elements. It is about this girl named Lily Ross who is a famous singer. Her songs are notable because they are all basically about heartbreaks. The book opens with Lily being heartbroken over some famous guy who was her boyfriend breaking it off with her. She ends up going on vacation to this island with her friends and deciding maybe she’s going to swear off guys this summer (hahaha). While driving, Lily gets into a fender bender and hits the car of this guy named Noel. Noel is super good looking and nice. The two begin to hang out and become romantically involved. Eventually Lily has to choose, her music or Noel. Also, her two best friends who are also her assistants, plays this big role in the book too. There are some suspenseful decisions to be made, for sure.

How Did I Like Sing?

Honestly, I was really, really into Sing. I mean, it’s one of those books that I strive to read over the summer. It’s got the summer setting. It’s got romance. It has FRIENDSHIPS. It has gossip. Also, that cover tho. I found myself totally drawn into the relationship of Lily and Noel. It is kind of romantic and sweet. Of course, I was invested. I also was into reading about Lily’s two best friends and seeing how things would play out with them. There are some interesting reveals when it comes to the best friends.

How’s The Narration?

I have indeed listened to several books narrated by Andi Arndt. She’s fantastic and does really, really well with narrating young adult books. Her voice is youthful and it just works for what she is reading. The audiobook of Sing by Vivi Greene is wicked short, clocking in at under seven hours. It’s the type of audiobook that you could finish in like two days if you had a lot of driving and chores to complete. It is one that I would also feel comfortable recommending to people who want to try out audiobooks, because it isn’t that huge of a commitment to listen to.

Other reviews of Sing by Vivi Greene:

Click here to support Good Books & Good Wine with your purchase or preview of Sing:

four-stars
About April (Books&Wine)

April is 28 years old and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. In her free time she can be found reading, working out, or eating junk food. She often wears her sunglasses at night.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: