A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis | Audiobook Review

I received this book for free from Library, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis | Audiobook ReviewA Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis
Also by this author: Not a Drop to Drink, In a Handful of Dust, Given to the Sea
Narrator: Brittany Pressley
Length: 9 Hours 34 Minutes
Published by HarperCollins on October 6th 2015
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Law & Crime, Thrillers & Suspense, Horror
Pages: 400
Format: Audiobook, Hardcover
Source: Library, Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9780062320889
Goodreads
five-stars

Edgar Award for Best Young Adult Mystery

Mindy McGinnis, the acclaimed author of Not a Drop to Drink and In a Handful of Dust, combines murder, madness, and mystery in a beautifully twisted gothic historical thriller perfect for fans of novels such as Asylum and The Diviners as well as television's True Detective and American Horror Story.

Grace Mae is already familiar with madness when family secrets and the bulge in her belly send her to an insane asylum—but it is in the darkness that she finds a new lease on life. When a visiting doctor interested in criminal psychology recognizes Grace's brilliant mind beneath her rage, he recruits her as his assistant. Continuing to operate under the cloak of madness at crime scenes allows her to gather clues from bystanders who believe her less than human. Now comfortable in an ethical asylum, Grace finds friends—and hope. But gruesome nights bring Grace and the doctor into the circle of a killer who will bring her shaky sanity and the demons in her past dangerously close to the surface.

Why Did I Listen To A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis?

A Madness So Discreet is just another book in Mindy McGinnis’s wide repertoire of genres within the young adult market. I’ve read almost all of McGinnis’s books with mixed results. There’s some that really gelled with me and one that did not. So, I kind of figured that I would give A Madness So Discreet a shot to see which side it lands on. I am really glad to say it lands on the good side. Of course, I went with audiobook because I’ve listened to other books narrated by Brittany Pressley and this seemed just the book to get me through my commute.

What’s The Story Here?

Mindy McGinnis’s historical mystery is about a girl named Grace Mae who is locked away in an asylum. She’s a girl who was raised in relative privilege. However, we learn that she’s in the asylum because she’s pregnant. Grace doesn’t talk at all, FYI. Until one day, she does start using her voice and she ends up locked in the basement downstairs. Somehow, she makes a friend, and then ends up leaving the awful asylum and working with this doctor to hunt down a killer and leave the awful asylum to go to a good one. Along the way, we learn who impregnated Grace and about her trauma history.

How Did I Like A Madness So Discreet?

Ya know, aside from the bits about the pregnancy — which is a very personal thing but since having a child I am extra sensitive to babies in terrible situations and traumatic birth stories — this was a really fantastic book. I am so glad I found another book that I like by Mindy McGinnis. After her Given To The Sea, I just wasn’t sure. Thank goodness, y’all. Thank goodness. I loved how layered this story was. It was definitely engaging to peel back each layer of Grace and her life and her secrets. She’s a superb character. Plus, the other female characters – the ones in Ohio – are awesome too. I just think that this book was an excellent use of McGinnis’s talents and want to see more in this vein.

How’s The Narration?

The audiobook of A Madness So Discreet is narrated by Brittany Pressley. It is easily accessible on Hoopla, so if you have an awesome library that has this service, I definitely recommend checking it out. I really enjoyed listening to Pressley’s narration. I think that this is my second book narrated by Pressley. She’s a pretty decent narrator and one that I would absolutely recommend. Her voice is well suited for the story and easy on the ears.

Other reviews of A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis:

Click here to support Good Books & Good Wine with your purchase or preview of A Madness So Discreet:

five-stars
About April (Books&Wine)

April is 28 years old and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. In her free time she can be found reading, working out, or eating junk food. She often wears her sunglasses at night.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: