Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge | Book Review

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge | Book ReviewCrimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge
Also by this author: Cruel Beauty
Published by HarperCollins on May 5th 2015
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy, Romance, Family
Pages: 464
Format: eARC, ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9780062224781
Goodreads
four-stars

An exhilarating tale of darkness, love, and redemption inspired by the classic fairy tale Little Red Riding Hood and the extravagant court of Versailles, from the author of Cruel Beauty. A doomed warrior and the king's most notorious bastard must join forces to defeat a dark evil in this gorgeously intricate fantasy—perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and A Court of Thorns and Roses.
When Rachelle was fifteen she was good—apprenticed to her aunt and in training to protect her village from dark magic. But she was also reckless—straying from the forest path in search of a way to free her world from the threat of eternal darkness. After an illicit meeting goes dreadfully wrong, Rachelle is forced to make a terrible choice that binds her to the very evil she had hoped to defeat.
Three years later, Rachelle has given her life to serving the realm, fighting deadly creatures in a vain effort to atone. When the king orders her to guard his son Armand—the man she hates most—Rachelle forces Armand to help her hunt for the legendary sword that might save their world. Together, they navigate the opulent world of the courtly elite, where beauty and power reign and no one can be trusted. And as the two become unexpected allies, they discover far-reaching conspiracies, hidden magic . . . and a love that may be their undoing. Within a palace built on unbelievable wealth and dangerous secrets, can Rachelle discover the truth and stop the fall of endless night?

Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge is a book that I 100% wanted to read sooner than I did. Yet, somehow, other books kept coming before that. Finally, I could take the temptation no more and whipped it off the shelf – right when I really had no obligations except to hurry up and wait for labor. I am so glad I read this when I did. Like, I finished it and got through it in my time off before going to the hospital and really enjoyed what I had read.

Rosamund Hodge’s Crimson Bound is allegedly a retelling of Little Red Riding Hood, but I just didn’t get that feeling or sense from what I had read. Essentially the plot follows this girl named Rachelle who is kind of a body guard for the king. She used to live with her mother in the village and was planning to become sort of a healer, medicine woman, if I recall correctly.

Then, plans changed when she was attacked in the forest. She was forced to kill or die, so after her kill, she enters the king’s service. There, she is pressed into duty of protecting Armand, his son. While there, she seeks a way to break the curse which is inflicted on a lot of people. She also kind of finds herself falling for Armand.

Rachelle as a character is super kick ass. I mean, there’s some coordinated attacks and she just goes wild to do her job. It’s pretty awesome to read. Beyond her physical prowess, she’s actually a great friend. You’ll see as you read. She has one good friend who is amazing at makeup and well, Rachelle shows her true colors as a friend. Also, I liked that she was very focused on her mission to defeat an evil that seems like it will eventually take over the kingdom, even though it may mean sacrificing herself. She’s just such a cool character.

As for the romance, I wouldn’t quite say it is on the level of Cruel Beauty investment for me. However, I did enjoy the build up of chemistry between Rachelle and Armand. It does take awhile for them to fall for each other, but oh when it hits. It’s pretty legit. Also, kind of forbidden which is interesting too.

I think that if you enjoyed Cruel Beauty or The Star Touched Queen, you’ll find yourself in for a treat with Rosamund Hodge’s Crimson Bound. It has that same sort of meandering writing style. The focus seems to be on the world building and some lush prose. Not to mention, the slow build of an excellent romance. If you’re super similar to me when it comes to taste, this book is sure to be in your wheelhouse.

Other reviews of Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge:

Click here to support Good Books & Good Wine with your purchase or preview of Crimson Bound:

four-stars
About April (Books&Wine)

April is 28 years old and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. In her free time she can be found reading, working out, or eating junk food. She often wears her sunglasses at night.

Comments

  1. I really loved Cruel Beauty and always meant to read Crimson Bound right away. Still need to but after reading your review I want to make that happen sooner rather than later! It sounds awesome, I didn’t know all that about the story.
    Morgan @ The Bookish Beagle recently posted..The Big Summer Reading RecapMy Profile

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: