Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace | Audiobook Review

I received this book for free from Library, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace | Audiobook ReviewShallow Graves by Kali Wallace
Narrator: Emily Woo Zeller
Length: 9 Hours 42 Minutes
Published by HarperCollins on January 26th 2016
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Horror, Monsters, Paranormal, Occult & Supernatural
Pages: 368
Format: Audiobook, ARC, eARC
Source: Library, Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9780062366221
Goodreads
three-half-stars

For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes.
When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she’s somehow conscious—and not only that, she’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs—where killers hide in plain sight, and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous.
Tense, complex, and wholly engaging, Shallow Graves is a stunning first novel from Kali Wallace.

Why Did I Listen To Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace?

Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace is basically a book that I randomly picked to read. It released last year in January 2016 and true to my sloth like nature, I am just now getting around to it. I am glad that I did space it far from my reading of These Shallow Graves which is nothing like Wallace’s book. It would have been disappointing otherwise, because of expectations to similar titles. I am so very glad I decided to go for the audiobook version though as the narrator is fast becoming one of my favorites.

What’s The Story Here?

Kali Wallace’s Shallow Graves is told from the perspective of Breezy. She’s a girl who wakes up after basically a year and sees that she’s actually in a grave. There’s a dead man next to her and her heartbeat is not quite what it used to be. That’s right, Breezy is dead. Only, she has somehow come back to life. Now, she can see when a person has killed someone, it’s written all over their face. And so, Breezy travels around killing serial killers. At least until she ends up at this cult like church and then the story takes a dramatic turn as we find out what exactly happened to Breezy and why she is the way that she is.

What Did I Think Of Shallow Graves?

I liked Shallow Graves but I didn’t love it. Honestly, I would definitely read more from Kali Wallace. However, this book does kind of feel as though it is all over the map. I would have preferred a strong focus on Breezy’s going after serial killers. We can’t always get what we want though. The supernatural aspect is pretty intriguing as well. However, I don’t think that I would find this book too memorable. It is entertaining though and actually a decent audiobook. It just is not going to be a favorite or go to of mine.

How’s The Narration?

The audiobook of Shallow Graves is narrated by Emily Woo Zeller. FYI, if you haven’t heard audiobooks narrated by Zeller you are missing out. She’s got this real sense of timing for young adult books. I’ve listened to a few books where she’s the reader and I think I just become more and more fond of her reading. If you’re interested in Shallow Graves, the audiobook is absolutely the way I would tell you to go. It’s very well narrated and that definitely made me like the book more.

Other reviews of Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace:

Click here to support Good Books & Good Wine with your purchase of Shallow Graves:

three-half-stars
About April (Books&Wine)

April is 28 years old and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. In her free time she can be found reading, working out, or eating junk food. She often wears her sunglasses at night.

Comments

  1. I found this one pretty tense — and gory. I think it’s an entertaining read, although I did forget about it, until I read your review. At the time I reviewed it, I wondered if there would be a sequel…
    Annette Mills recently posted..Book Review: The Sleepwalker, by Chris BohjalianMy Profile

  2. Thanks for linking to my review! You’re review is great. I agree with you about Breezy going after serial killers – that would have been a MUCH more intriguing plot! This book had SO much potential!
    Meredith @ Pandora’s Books recently posted..Television Tuesday: Breaking Up (Or Not) With a Television ShowMy Profile

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: