The Crown Of Embers by Rae Carson | Readalong Chapters 1-10 #ReadingRae

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Crown Of Embers by Rae Carson | Readalong Chapters 1-10 #ReadingRaeThe Crown of Embers by Rae Carson
Also by this author: Walk on Earth a Stranger, The Crown of Embers, The Bitter Kingdom, The Bitter Kingdom, Like a River Glorious
Series: The Girl Of Fire And Thorns #2
Also in this series: The Bitter Kingdom
Published by Harper Collins on September 18th 2012
Genres: Young Adult, Love & Romance, Fantasy & Magic, Royalty
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
ISBN: 9780062190086
Goodreads

The second book in Rae Carson's award-winning The Girl of Fire and Thorns fantasy trilogy, perfect for fans of Game of Thrones and Kristin Cashore. Tamora Pierce called the first book, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, "A unique and engrossing read!" A seventeen-year-old princess turned war queen faces sorcery, adventure, untold power, and romance as she fulfills her epic destiny.
In The Girl of Fire and Thorns, Elisa won the war. She saved her kingdom. But no one prepared her for how hard it is to recover from a battle, or to rule a people who still don't trust her. She's still fighting—against assassination attempts and more—and her enemies lie both outside her court and within it. So Elisa will cross the ocean in search of the perilous, uncharted, and mythical source of the Godstone's power. With her go a one-eyed warrior, a loyal friend, an enemy defector, and the man she is falling in love with. A breathtaking, romantic, and dangerous second volume to Rae Carson's ambitious trilogy. Cinda Williams Chima proclaimed about the first book, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, "I LOVED this book!" and Veronica Roth agreed, saying, "Definitely recommended."

CE_Week4

Missed Week Three? Catch up here as well as on Me, My Shelf And I, Fictitious Delicious,Mundie Moms & Fiktshun

YOU GUYS! I am so completely sorry and full of apologies for being late on this. Apparently I am the worst at managing my time when I’ve got a weekend packed with social engagements. The struggle.

So, okay! Now we are done with The Girl Of Fire And Thorns and are now onto The Crown Of Embers. And thank goodness, because this book if it was a FRIENDS episode could be called “The One With All The Tension.” Okay, so the book opens up and there’s a big parade because Elisa bears the Godstone and is also a hero. But, Hector is all, a parade could be dangerous because he is a bodyguard expert pretty much. THEN an animagus shows up and it’s all WHOMP WHOMP sadface as he lights himself on fire and they go back home. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Once Elisa is home, Quorum is called and we get to go to the HALL OF SKULLS. Of course, douches be douches during the quorum meeting and there is insistence that Elisa find a husband. The king of these douches is General Luz-Manuel who downplays the fact that Elisa saved the nation and is now Queen Regent. He sucks is all you should really care about.

THEN someone tries to assassinate Elisa and it is all like, bro just stop. She has a godstone and bodyguards, do you honest to goodness think you can just kill her? In the immortal words of Danny Zucko ‘Ha ha don’t make me laugh’. (Grease is on Netflix, you are welcome.)

When Elisa comes to, she realizes there might be some damage.

A few chapters go by and THEN OMG ALONE TIME WITH HECTORRRRRR. Yo word. Best part so far.

General Luz-Manuel orders someone dead because he is actually the worst.

And then we end the readalong with another assassination attempt that fails because these assassins suck compared to Ismae and the girls of St. Mortain. Anyways! I think this week’s portion of the Reading Rae readalong was fairly awesome and I am so excited to get back into this book again.

GOODREADS | AMAZON | B&N

a Rafflecopter giveaway

For more thoughts on these chapters – check out my fellow Rae Readalong companions!

FicDel

logo

MMSAI125

MundieMomsButton

About Rae Carson:

Rae Carson Info:

I write books about teens who must do brave things. I’m originally from California, but I now live in Arizona with my husband, who is the smartest and therefore sexiest man I know. My books tend to contain lots of adventure, a little magic and romance, and smart girls who make (mostly) smart choices. I especially love to write about questions I don’t know the answers to.

WebsiteTwitter | Facebook

About April (Books&Wine)

April is 30 years old and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and baby, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: