Awkward Marni Bates Book Review

marniblogtour

Blog Tour

Often, I think I am an awkward person, but you guys, I am FULL of social grace compared to Mackenzie, main character of Awkward by Marni Bates. Yo, Awkward is just what the doctor ordered. You see, sometimes after a stressful day at work, I want a light Meg Cabot-esque contemporary read with compelling characters. Awkward by Marni Bates was the perfect escape and had me grinning pretty hard.

Awkward Marni Bates Book Cover

Awkward

Mackenzie Wellesley has spent most of her life being Awkward but Invisible, as the last time she was the center of attention, her dad ended up leaving her family. So obviously girl has some emotional scars. When an embarrassing video of Mackenzie is posted to youtube, she becomes internet famous – receiving free designer clothes and is followed by the paparazzi. Mackenzie just wants her old life as an Invisible back, where she tutors notable Logan and hangs with her BFFs Corey and Jane. Will fame go to Mackenzie’s head?

Oh, you guys, I just loved Mackenzie’s voice. Marni Bates has created a winsome character in Mackenzie Wellesley. She’s sarcastic, self-deprecating, smart, but also kind of dense. You see, in the beginning of Awkward, Mackenzie has very low self esteem, but then she goes through a transformation where she realizes she’s not so bad after all. I couldn’t help but root for Mackenzie because I LOVE a good underdog story.

Also? The side characters in Awkward by Marni Bates really supplemented the story. Hardworking, studious Jane always has Mackenzie’s back. Corey is her gay BFF whose parents totally support him. He isn’t flamboyant or a caricature, but a truly great friend. AND THEN there is the crush worthy Logan who doesn’t treat Mackenzie as an untouchable, but as an actual person. I think the supporting characters absolutely impact Awkward in a good way, in that I really liked when they would pop up.

Awkward by Marni Bates is written in a breezy writing style. Like I said about, Awkward feels like one of Meg Cabot’s contemporary books. It will appeal to fans of Audrey, Wait by Robin Benway and the unwanted fame storyline. I love these types of books, they aren’t the most literary, but are definitely comfortable reads, perfect for a distressing day where you NEED to just lose yourself in the pages.

Disclosure: Received for review for blog tour.

Other reviews of Awkward by Marni Bates:

Bookalicio.us
A Backwards Story
My Cute Bookshelf
Fabbity Fab Book Reviews

Want my paperback copy of Awkward by Marni Bates? Just leave a comment on this post. Giveaway open internationally. Ends 4/3. I will email the winner and also announce the winner on THIS POST.

The winner is Laurie 

Marni Bates on Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/marnibates
Next Tour Stop: Danielle at There’s a Book
About April (Books&Wine)

April is 28 years old and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. In her free time she can be found reading, working out, or eating junk food. She often wears her sunglasses at night.

Comments

  1. I read Awkward after a LONG stressful day, and I could not agree more! It was “Just what the doctor ordered”!! I loved this book so much – and I loved how “Graceful” I felt while reading it.
    Jac @ For Love and Books recently posted..Awkward Blog Tour: Interview with Marni BatesMy Profile

  2. Anything that makes me feel less loser is awesome. I loved this book.

  3. You had me sold on “It will appeal to fans of Audrey, Wait by Robin Benway.” LOVED that book. Definitely adding this to my to read list! 🙂

  4. I hadn’t seen much of this book but I like the comparison to Meg Cabot’s writing-I adore her straight contemps (not so much the paranormals) so this sounds perfect for me!
    Bookworm1858 recently posted..CroakMy Profile

  5. Mary Preston says:

    I would love to read AWKWARD thank you. All the glowing endorsements say it’s a must read for me.

    Cheers!!

  6. I will have to look for a copy of this. I love it when characters go through a transformation and sometimes this is the type of book I need to read. Thanks for your review! This will be going on my TBR list.
    Christina T recently posted..Waiting on Wednesday (87)My Profile

  7. I love that she becomes youtube famous!! I have been WAITING for a book to talk about that.
    Meghan recently posted..Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books On My Spring To-Be-Read listMy Profile

  8. I looooove that she’s an awkward teenager turned celebrity! all of todays teenage celebrities are gorgeous & proper (are they even from this planet?!) so I like the realism.

    PLUS I’m ALWAYS up for a Meg Cabot-esque Contemp 😉
    melannie recently posted..Review: The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy NelsonMy Profile

  9. You sold me with the Audrey, Wait! comparison. I adore that book. This sounds great!

  10. Rachel M. says:

    I was hesitant to read Awkward but it sounds like just the thing I might need to get over my reading slump. Thanks for the great review!

  11. I love books about awkward people because I have my days where I am incredibly awkward…embarrassingly so. It’s nice to read about people that have the same problem!

  12. I started this the other day, to get ready for my stop of the blog tour, and so far it’s super cute and fun. I wanna talk more about it, but gotta save my ravings for my own post! Glad you enjoyed it and hopefully whoever wins your ARC will enjoy it too!
    Candice recently posted..Bragging RightsMy Profile

  13. I love these cute high-school contemporaries. Thanks for the giveaway!
    Reut recently posted..Waiting On Wednesday: Vengeful Abductees, Vengeful Teenagers, and Spinsters (for good measure.)My Profile

  14. I do like me some light contemps. This one has gotten a few good reviews so I’d be happy to see what it’s all about. Thanks for the giveaway!
    Tahleen recently posted..Review: "Me and Earl and the Dying Girl" by Jesse AndrewsMy Profile

  15. This book sounds so cute! Great review, I’d really love to read it.

  16. I love humor in YA, so books like Audrey, Wait! are right up my alley. And I don’t know why but embarrassing situations are fun to read about even though they are awful in real life. Sometimes you just want a breezy and fun contemporary like this. Thanks for the awesome review and giveaway!
    Lucy recently posted..Bookin’ Around WonderCon: Recap & Once Upon a Time Journal GiveawayMy Profile

  17. I love sarcastic witty characters. Really looking forward to reading this one.
    Thanks for the awesome giveaway.

  18. I LOVED Awkward too! So cute and fun and light and awesome. There were parts where I laughed out loud, and that’s one of my favorite things to do when I’m reading. I can’t wait to read more of Marni’s stuff! (PS, you totally don’t need to include me in the giveaway. My date on this tour is Sunday!)
    Amy @ Tripping Over Books recently posted..Fantasy Map LoveMy Profile

  19. I’m so torn on this book, because sometimes I can’t handle too much awkward. There are tv shows I absolutely cannot watch because of awkwardness (like Curb Your Enthusiasm), but something in my still really wants to read Awkard. I love the Meg Cabot comparison, as I know just what you mean about wanting those light YA reads.
    Heidi recently posted..Review: Grave Mercy by R.L. LaFeversMy Profile

  20. These characters sound like bottled beauty in every perfect way. I want to hang with this crew of awesomesauce people. I’ve heard nothing but good things about them! I’ve just ordered this from my library 🙂

    Asher
    A. Knight recently posted..My Book Boyfriend for March: LokiMy Profile

  21. holy shiz buckets, april. i want to read this book like LAST WEDNESDAY.
    Jen recently posted..My Thoughts: Shine by Jeri Smith-ReadyMy Profile

  22. Bárbara says:

    If I had any doubt I would like this book I don´t have it anymore, because I LOVE Meg Cabot and I LOVE Audrey, wait! So anything remotely close to them deserves to be in my TBR pile!

  23. If I had any doubt I would like this book I dont have it anymore, because I LOVE Meg Cabot and I LOVE Audrey, wait! So anything remotely close to them deserves to be in my TBR pile!

  24. This book sounds so cute, I’ve been hearing good stuff about it for what seems like forever. Thanks for the giveaway. =)
    Ashley @ Book Labyrinth recently posted..Blue Sky Days by Marie Landry + Guest PostMy Profile

  25. read this book and i could not stop reading it, it was a great book!!!!!!!!!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. […] “ I love these types of books, they aren’t the most literary, but are definitely comfortable reads, perfect for a distressing day where you NEED to just lose yourself in the pages.” – April @ Good Books and Good Wine […]

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge