Hello (From Here) by Chandler Baker and Wesley King | Audiobook Review

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Hello (From Here) by Chandler Baker and Wesley King | Audiobook ReviewHello (from Here) by Chandler Baker, Wesley King
Narrator: Michael Crouch, Annie Q
Length: 9 Hours 35 Minutes
Also by this author: Teen Frankenstein: High School Horror
Published by Penguin on October 28, 2021
Pages: 352
Format: Audiobook, eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

A heartfelt, witty, and thought-provoking YA love story about two teens who fall for each other while forced apart during quarantine, written by two New York Times bestselling authors, and for fans of Five Feet Apart, Anna and the French Kiss, and My Life Next Door

Maxine and Jonah meet in the canned goods aisle just as California is going into lockdown. Max's part-time job as a personal grocery shopper is about to transform into a hellish gauntlet. Jonah's preexisting anxiety is about to become an epic daily struggle. As Max and Jonah get to know each other through FaceTime dates, socially distanced playground hangs, and the escalating heartbreaks of the pandemic, they're pushed apart by what they don't share and pulled closer by what they do.

As thoughtful, probing, and informed as it is buoyant, romantic, and funny, Hello (From Here) cuts across differences in class, privilege, and mental health, all thrown into stark relief by the COVID-19 pandemic. Here's a novel that looks at the first two months of the quarantine, and adds falling in love to the mess.

"Hello (From Here) isn't just a book about the pandemic." --PopSugar
"It's also a funny, poignant romcom about the unpredictability of love in chaotic times. . . . Excellent." --BCCB
* "Satisfyingly banter-filled." --PW, starred review
"Sweet . . . Effectively rendered." --Kirkus
"Realistic." --SLJ
"Not your typical romantic comedy, [it's] a timely update of the genre." --Booklist
"Witty, entertaining . . . endearing and relatable." --Common Sense Media
"An unputdownable story that YA readers will adore." --Brightly
"Funny, romantic, and eerily familiar." --author Kelly Loy Gilbert
"Witty, hilarious, heart-filled, and romantic." --author Jeff Zentner

Why Did I Listen To Hello (From Here) by Chandler Baker and Wesley King?

I know that some people are really resistant to reading contemporary books that include COVID. However, Hello (From Here) by Chandler Baker and Wesley King appealed to me specifically for that reason. Personally, reading about something I lived through helps me to process that thing. But, I know that everyone reads and processes and experiences things differently. So, if you are not about a book set during COVID, you may want to skip this one.

What’s The Story Here?

Hello (From Here) follows Max (Maxine) and Jonah who meet by chance at the grocery store on the cusp of the pandemic. Actually, they meet right at the time that toilet paper became a hot commodity. Max delivers groceries as she tries to save up money for community college classes after high school. Jonah’s dad is doing well financially as is his stepmom. Jonah has anxiety as well — which just gets worse because of the pandemic. However, the two keep connecting and we see them fall for each other – even in lockdown when they have to socially distance.

What Did I Think Of Hello (From Here) by Chandler Baker and Wesley King?

I liked the character of Max a bit more than the character of Jonah. It turns out, I just felt her struggles a little bit more. Her mom is a single mother and it is so hard to get by. They don’t have a lot of money to spare and Max has to think about contributing the bills and then paying her own way. Jonah did eventually grow on me, however. He does make some not great choices, but he’s a teenager and so I don’t expect him to be perfect by any means.

One part that I found myself very invested in was Arlo and Chester. I won’t go into super details, but that part was just heart wrenching. It hit me very hard — but also kept me very invested in this book.

How’s The Narration?

The audiobook of Hello (From Here) contains dual narration. Annie Q narrates Max’s chapters. Michael Crouch narrates Jonah’s chapters. I liked Crouch’s narration the best — I guess because I am very familiar with his narration style. Meanwhile, Annie Q was great when doing the voice for Max, I just felt like the male voicing was not ideal. Overall though, this was an audiobook that I would recommend. It doesn’t feel like it drags. It is 9 hours 35 minutes long.


four-stars
The following two tabs change content below.
April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.
About April (Books&Wine)

April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: