They’ll Never Catch Us by Jessica Goodman | Audiobook Review

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

They’ll Never Catch Us by Jessica Goodman | Audiobook ReviewThey'll Never Catch Us by Jessica Goodman
Also by this author: They Wish They Were Us
Narrator: Jesse Vilinsky, Phoebe Strole, Kristen Sieh
Length: 10 Hours 48 Minutes
Published by Penguin on July 27, 2021
Genres: Young Adult Fiction / Family / Siblings, Young Adult Fiction / Sports & Recreation / Track & Field, Young Adult Fiction / Thrillers & Suspense / General
Pages: 336
Format: Audiobook, eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9780593114339
Goodreads
four-stars

**A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER**

From rising star Jessica Goodman, author of They Wish They Were Us, comes a new fast-paced thriller about two sisters vying for the top spot on their cross-country team—until a teammate’s disappearance throws their lives off course.

"An utter page-turner. Goodman's voice is razor-sharp and keenly precise. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn!" Tiffany D. Jackson NYT Bestselling Author of White Smoke and Grown

Stella and Ellie Steckler are only a year apart, but their different personalities make their relationship complicated. Stella is single-minded, driven, and she keeps to herself. Cross-country running is her life and she won't let anything get in the way of being the best. Her sister Ellie is a talented runner too, but she also lets herself have fun. She has friends. She goes to parties. She has a life off the course.

The sisters do have one thing in common, though: the new girl, Mila Keene. Both Stecklers' lives are upended when Mila comes to town. At first, Ellie and Stella view the new star athlete as a threat. But soon Ellie can't help but be drawn to her warm, charming personality. After her best friend moved away and her first boyfriend betrayed her, Ellie's been looking for a friend to share her secrets. Stella finds herself noticing the ways she and Mila are similar. Mila is smart and strong--she's someone Stella can finally connect with. As the two get closer, Stella becomes something she vowed she'd never be: distracted.

With regionals approaching and college scouts taking notice, the pressure is on. Each girl has their future on the line and they won't let friendships get in their way. But then, suddenly, Mila goes out on a training run and never returns. No one knows what happened, but all eyes are on the Steckler sisters.

Why Did I Listen To They’ll Never Catch Us by Jessica Goodman?

I really loved the audiobook of Jessica Goodman’s debut, so makes sense that I was looking forward to her sophomore follow up, They’ll Never Catch Us. I love that YA thrillers are really catching on. They are almost more appealing than adult thrillers because the stories feel faster paced and the characters are more diverse. Add in sports and They’ll Never Catch Us had my attention.

What’s The Story Here?

They’ll Never Catch Us follows the Steckler sisters – Stella and Ellie who are competing for the top spot on their high school’s track team. You see, the town where they live has a reputation, as several girls were murdered while out running alone. However, the high school is working to rehabilitate that image that Edgewater has. Now the track team is tops and the Steckler sisters are the best. Things are going decently until Mila, one of the girls on the team, goes missing. The sisters come under suspicion as motive is there — given how competitive they are.

How Did I Like They’ll Never Catch Us?

As long as Jessica Goodman keeps writing contemporary YA thrillers, I will keep listening to them. I find these books really easy to get through and a good way to wind down while listening. Ellie and Stella are so different — but very well drawn as characters. I felt like both had depth and were well written. You can definitely feel the competitiveness between the two. Some scenes weren’t easy to read and I could see why the characters acted the way they did. Like at a track meet — all the team members do one thing, but then one of the girls does something else and it is so cringe, but I get it. I know I am being vague, just no spoilers. If you are looking to get into thrillers, Goodman is a great way to test those waters.

How’s The Narration?

The audiobook has three narrators – Phoebe Strole, Kristen Sieh, and Jessie Vilinsky. It is 10 hours and 48 minutes unabridged. Of course you all know I listened to this one sped up to 1.5x. I really liked Strole and Sieh’s narration. I found this book easy to follow along with. The choice to use two different narrators for each of the Steckler sisters was a good one – made it so their characters were not easily confused with each other. Pick this audiobook up for a good autumn sort of read — you have sports and murder — perfect for the season.


four-stars
The following two tabs change content below.
April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.
About April (Books&Wine)

April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: