How Sweet It Is by Dylan Newton | Book Review

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

How Sweet It Is by Dylan Newton | Book ReviewHow Sweet It Is by Dylan Newton
Published by Hachette Books, Forever Genres: Romance
Pages: 352
Format: eARC, Paperback
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 1538754401
Goodreads
five-stars

What happens when the queen of romance falls for the king of horror--you get "a hilarious rom-com comp," perfect for fans of Beach Read. (Kirkus, starred review)

Event planner Kate Sweet is famous for creating the perfect happily-ever-after moment for her clients’ dream weddings. So how is it that her best friend has roped her into planning a bestselling horror writer’s book launch extravaganza? But the second Kate meets—or rather, accidentally maims—the drop-dead-hot Drake Matthews, her well-ordered life quickly transforms into an absolute nightmare.

Drake Matthews is tired of the spotlight and tired of his reputation as the Knight of Nightmares. He's really a nice guy! But he’s not prepared for Kate, a fearless agent of chaos in steel-tipped stilettos, or for that sweet sting of attraction he feels for her. She’s inspiring him to take his writing in a whole new direction—one that no one expects. Because now Kate and Drake are changing up the rules, and this plot twist might just surprise everyone . . . including themselves.

"Fans of The Hating Game by Sally Thorne, Red, White and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston, Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert, and Written in the Stars by Alexandria Bellefleur will adore How Sweet It Is!" --The Nerd Daily

How Sweet It Is by Dylan Newton is an absolute delight and hit my soul in the most wonderful kind of way. While I have been in a little bit of a blah reading slump, this book just broke right through and lit up my reading life. Seriously it contained several of my favorite elements wrapped into a bookish package of excellence. And honestly, this is one of my favorite romances that I’ve read this year.

Dylan Newton’s How Sweet It Is follows Kate Sweet, an event planner known for her magic moment at each wedding she plans. Kate wants to win a prestigious award called an Evplex which is for event planners.However to do that she needs to branch out from planning weddings. In comes her best friend Imani who works at a publishing house and in need of a favor. Imani needs the book launch planned for mega famous horror author Drake Matthews, the Knight of Nightmares. And so, Kate rolls up her sleeves and begins planning his Halloween launch. It will take place in the small Western New York town where he lives. And although they get off on the wrong foot, sparks fly between Kate and Drake.

I loved this book. It is set in AUTUMN in WESTERN NEW YORK. Literally my favorite time of the year and my backyard practically. I wish more romances were set in Autumn. If only the cycle that has authors publishing a Christmas theme and then a summer theme instead alternated to include a fall theme. This book was excellent for the season sitting. I also loved how professionally successful both Kate and Drake are. Both clearly are dedicated to their careers and not in an annoying or cliche way. The chemistry between Kate and Drake was chef’s kiss. Oh and after reading this, I kind of would like to read Drake’s historical romance book.

In all seriousness, I am so excited to just push this book on people because it absolutely rocked. I am really looking forward to whatever Dylan Newton writes next — particularly if it’s taking place in Western/Upstate New York!


 

https://www.tiktok.com/@realbooksandwine/video/7002554672342994182?is_copy_url=0&is_from_webapp=v1&sender_device=pc&sender_web_id=6970712965377869318

five-stars
The following two tabs change content below.
April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.
About April (Books&Wine)

April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: