All I Want For Christmas Is You by Miranda Liasson | Book Review

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

All I Want For Christmas Is You by Miranda Liasson | Book ReviewAll I Want for Christmas Is You by Miranda Liasson
Series: Angel Falls #3
Published by Grand Central Publishing on October 29, 2019
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, Holiday, Firefighters, Women, Small Town & Rural
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9781455541867
Goodreads
four-stars

"Step into the delightful world Miranda Liasson has crafted" (Entertainment Weekly) in this charming friends-to-lovers romance -- perfect for readers of New York Times bestselling authors Jill Shalvis, Lori Wilde, and Susan Mallery.Just when Kaitlyn Barnes vows to get over her longtime crush on Rafe Langdon, they share a sizzling evening that delivers an epic holiday surprise: Kaitlyn is pregnant. And if that weren't life-changing enough, everyone assumes they're engaged -- a charade they must keep alive through the holiday season. But Kaitlyn knows Rafe better than anyone, and Rafe settling down is about as likely as Santa skipping Angel Falls this year...Rafe would rather Kaitlyn believe a lie -- that their night together was a fling -- than face his own dangerous truth: he's falling for her, hard. After a devastating loss, Rafe swore he'd never risk his heart again. Yet the longer they pretend to be engaged the more Rafe starts to want the real thing. But now he has to convince Kaitlyn he wants to be by her side -- and their baby's -- for all the Christmases to come.Includes the bonus novel Christmas on Mistletoe Lane by Annie Rains!

It’s the most wonderful time of year – the return of Christmas romances! Although All I Want For Christmas Is You by Miranda Liasson was not the first holiday romance I’ve read this year, it’s the first one I got some motivation to review. Also — the first book I have been motivated to review since July. It has been a rough 2020 as you all know, but thankfully books add joy!

All I Want For Christmas Is You by Miranda Liasson almost could be ripped from a Hallmark movie. The main characters are a coffee shop owner and a fireman. The thing that makes this not Hallmark? There’s S-E-X. Not to mention, the premise of the book is that Kaitlyn hooks up with Rafe drunkenly at a wedding in September and accidentally gets pregnant. She decides to keep the baby. FYI, if you came here thinking there would be a secret baby plot, you would be wrong. Kaitlyn immediately discloses to Rafe. However, Rafe is not the commitment type, having experienced trauma early in adulthood which has turned him off from getting locked down. Yet, the two are forced to pretend to be engaged for the holiday season.

Being currently with child myself, I could relate to Kaitlyn somewhat. Except that I am not the type to get up at the crack of dawn to open a store and bake cookies nor am I as thoughtful as Kaitlyn. Still, she’s a wonderful character and I rooted for her. She just wants to be a good person and do right by those in her life – especially her niece Hazel. Rafe, I felt was a bit immature. Yet, he experiences so much growth throughout All I Want For Christmas Is You. And well, the ending had me a little blubbery and I cannot entirely blame that on hormones.


On A Scale Of One To Buddy The Elf, How Much Christmas Spirit Does All I Want For Christmas Is You Have?

First of all, the title of this book is from one of the best Christmas songs ever and if you disagree I don’t even want to know you. Second of all, there’s so much baking – mainly for a contest and because of the nature of Kaitlyn’s job. However, baking gives me such holiday vibes. Third, Rafe’s family is big and has these large family gatherings which remind me of back home. Miranda Liasson’s All I Want For Christmas Is You definitely has got the holiday vibes on lock.

four-stars
The following two tabs change content below.
April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Latest posts by April (Books&Wine) (see all)

About April (Books&Wine)

April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: