Deadfall by Anna Carey | Book Review

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Deadfall by Anna Carey | Book ReviewDeadfall by Anna Carey
Also by this author: Blackbird
Series: Blackbird #2
Also in this series: Blackbird
Published by HarperCollins on June 16th 2015
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Action & Adventure, Survival Stories, Mysteries & Detective Stories, Romance
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9780062299789
Goodreads
two-stars

In the compelling sequel to Blackbird, Anna Carey delivers a gritty and adrenaline-filled story of a girl desperate to escape her mysterious and terrifying assailants. Told in second person, this heart-pounding thriller puts the reader in front of the target, and is perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and Legend.
A week ago, you woke up in Los Angeles with no memory of who you are. The only thing you knew: people are trying to kill you. You put your trust in Ben, but he betrayed you and broke your heart. Now you’ve escaped to New York City with a boy named Rafe, who says he remembers you from before. But the two of you are not safe. The same people who are after you are tailing Rafe as well. As the chase heats up, your memory starts to return, but your past cannot save you from the terrifying circumstances of your present, or the fact that one wrong move could end this game forever.

Deadfall by Anna Carey is the sequel to BlackbirdEssentially, it picks up right where Blackbird leaves off. I decided to give this book a shot despite not being overly enthusiastic about Blackbird because it is SUCH a quick read. I sort of figure, perhaps it can redeem itself and be better. If not, it isn’t like I invested all that much time in reading Deadfall. Overall, this sequel does indeed live up to being a quick read and delivering answers to most of my questions. However, I still feel kind of lackluster on the whole about this book and this series.

Okay, so as I said Deadfall begins following the events of the previous book. Told in second person, the main character is a girl who has no memory of her past life. She met this guy, Ben, but he screwed her over. So now she is on the run with her friend, Rafe. They end up in New York City, where they meet with other kids who happen to be in the same situation. They’re running from these hunters. They all have different code names. So, it would seem that they need to change up their strategy because kids are dying. So the main character decides to maybe fight back, as she also is beginning to recover her memory. She also decides to expand her circle of who she trusts.

The main character does not have a name. At least not in the beginning of the book. Thankfully, though, we do finally discover her name after all. I know that would have driven me up the wall, not ever discovering her name. So anyways, she’s easy to connect with given the nature of the writing. I mean, as you read you feel like you are the main character. She goes through so much and is quite brave at many moments. I will say I wasn’t 100% on board with her romance, but I do like how she becomes empowered eventually.

Anna Carey’s sequel is written using second person which is an adjustment to read. At least, for me, it is an adjustment. I tend to go strictly for first or third person. It is interesting and different for sure. I felt that this book did have a whole lot of action. However, by the end, I just didn’t care a whole ton for the characters. I think that results will vary with this book and this series. If you’re more action oriented than you are character oriented, you’ll find this very enjoyable.

Other reviews of Deadfall by Anna Carey:

Click here to support Good Books & Good Wine with your purchase of Deadfall:

two-stars
About April (Books&Wine)

April is 28 years old and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. In her free time she can be found reading, working out, or eating junk food. She often wears her sunglasses at night.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: