The Crown Of Embers by Rae Carson | Readalong Chapters 11-20 #ReadingRae

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Crown Of Embers by Rae Carson | Readalong Chapters 11-20 #ReadingRaeThe Crown of Embers by Rae Carson
Also by this author: Walk on Earth a Stranger, The Crown of Embers, The Bitter Kingdom, The Bitter Kingdom, Like a River Glorious
Series: The Girl Of Fire And Thorns #2
Also in this series: The Bitter Kingdom
Published by Harper Collins on September 18th 2012
Genres: Young Adult, Love & Romance, Fantasy & Magic, Royalty
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
ISBN: 9780062190086
Goodreads

The second book in Rae Carson's award-winning The Girl of Fire and Thorns fantasy trilogy, perfect for fans of Game of Thrones and Kristin Cashore. Tamora Pierce called the first book, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, "A unique and engrossing read!" A seventeen-year-old princess turned war queen faces sorcery, adventure, untold power, and romance as she fulfills her epic destiny.
In The Girl of Fire and Thorns, Elisa won the war. She saved her kingdom. But no one prepared her for how hard it is to recover from a battle, or to rule a people who still don't trust her. She's still fighting—against assassination attempts and more—and her enemies lie both outside her court and within it. So Elisa will cross the ocean in search of the perilous, uncharted, and mythical source of the Godstone's power. With her go a one-eyed warrior, a loyal friend, an enemy defector, and the man she is falling in love with. A breathtaking, romantic, and dangerous second volume to Rae Carson's ambitious trilogy. Cinda Williams Chima proclaimed about the first book, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, "I LOVED this book!" and Veronica Roth agreed, saying, "Definitely recommended."

CE_Week5

Good morning everyone! So, okay, yes I am typing this in the morning it is due just like in high school and college – because I do my best work under pressure and also still procrastinate like crazy.

So, we left off with a failed assassination attempt thus proving it is not good to be the Queen like it is good to be the King. Elisa is trying to find out who tried to poison her and how. It turns out that it was dried and powdered duerma berries – same as those leaves that were used to knock her out in the first book, it is almost like coming full circle I KNOW. Anyways, Elisa has to have the person who did it punished which sucks, but that’s kind of her job.

Then Elisa has concerns about Rosario – given that his parents are dead and she’s only like 16 and has to raise him. Still, she’s doing her best. She also does some exercises with Hector.

THEN THE BEST PART OF THE BOOK! At least for me — when Hector gives her the crown which he and a few of the other guard raised the money to make. It is beautiful and perfect and I love this part. The crown is made of shattered godstones and it is just so fitting and apt and hello you guys Hector is the best ever. OH AND THIS HAPPENS ON DELIVERANCE DAY. And Elisa is at a ball with some suitors. They all mostly suck because I am team Hector.

Then, somehow, it ends up being that Elisa’s sister, Alodia, is to marry Hector, which wtf. We are not about to have that you guys. Some more things happen.

AND THEN FINALLY Elisa and Hector end up on a boat, kidnapped.

Until next week!

GOODREADS | AMAZON | B&N

a Rafflecopter giveaway

For more thoughts on these chapters – check out my fellow Rae Readalong companions!

FicDel

logo

MMSAI125

MundieMomsButton

About Rae Carson:

Rae Carson Info:

I write books about teens who must do brave things. I’m originally from California, but I now live in Arizona with my husband, who is the smartest and therefore sexiest man I know. My books tend to contain lots of adventure, a little magic and romance, and smart girls who make (mostly) smart choices. I especially love to write about questions I don’t know the answers to.

WebsiteTwitter | Facebook

About April (Books&Wine)

April is 30 years old and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and baby, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: