The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick | Audiobook Review

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick | Audiobook ReviewThe Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Narrator: MacLeod Andrews, Jorjeana Marie
Length: 12 Hours 31 Minutes
Published by Penguin on August 18th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Social Issues, Family, General, Love & Romance
Pages: 416
Format: Audiobook, eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9780698157903
Goodreads
five-stars

A surprising, utterly romantic companion to My Life Next Door—great for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han 
Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house
Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.
For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.
Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have.
And Alice is caught in the middle.
Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this novel is for readers of The Spectacular Now, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, and Paper Towns.

Why Did I Listen To This Book?

A few years ago, back when getting a review copy from Penguin Young Readers was like cracking the Rosetta Stone code, I had somehow, magically, managed to get my hands upon the most epic package in my life — receiving that package made me feel like I had won the lottery. It contained Bitterblue, Gilt, and My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick. Needless to say, I received some very amazing books. I gobbled all three of these books up immediately because I do not look gift horses in their collective mouths. You guys, basically, I LOVED My Life Next Door and found myself absolutely desperate for more books from Huntley Fitzpatrick. Of course, The Boy Most Likely To came out and it was like the heavens parted AND THEN one of the audiobook narrators just happens to be a narrator who is actually really excellent and HELLO FATE YES I AM HERE TO FOLLOW YOUR DIRECTION AND LISTEN TO THIS AUDIOBOOK.

What’s The Story Here?

YOU GUYS! IT IS THE RETURN OF THE GARRETT FAMILY AND I AM TYPING IN CAPS BECAUSE OF LOVE. Okay, so, The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick is a companion novel to My Life Next Door and yes, there are some Jase and Samantha sneak peeks. This book is about their friend, Tim, and Jase’s sister, Alice. Tim has essentially been cut off by his wealthy parents because he’s kind of a screw up. And so, he goes to live in the apartment in the Garrett’s garage – if I am remembering correctly. This pisses Alice off, because she was hoping for that apartment as an oasis from her ever expanding family. One day, Tim’s addict past catches up with him OOOOO I know! AND SURPRISE he has to be an adult faster than anticipated. I can’t tell you more – but it is interesting how this storyline actually appeals to me. OH and Alice, Alice, Alice. She’s a nursing student but she’s struggling financially because her family needs money seeing as how there’s a car accident and Mr. Garrett is laid up. EITHER WAY. I love this book. Just read it right now and yes, I am not spoilers-ing.

How’s The Family Dynamics?

So, okay, Tim’s family is more of the tough love rich people variety. His mom gardens, and that is all I remember about her until the end. His dad is like some big bank guy and he’s a douche. Instead of trying to get to the root of Tim’s alcohol addiction issues and maybe why he’s lashing out, he just cuts him off. Like, hey, maybe some trauma informed therapy? Maybe pay attention to your kid? Ugh, forget Tim’s dad. There’s also his twin, Nan, who doesn’t play as much of a role as I had hoped for. Things are kind of tense with Nan.

OMG AND THE GARRETTS! Okay, so of course they have different family dynamics. They embody that loud, crazy family with so much going on that it might seem like you’ll be lost in their crowd. HOWEVER. That’s not the case. They show up for things. They care for one another. It is no wonder that they seem almost magnetic for lonely people (i.e. Samantha and Tim). I just want all of the books with them. Fitzpatrick is a master of creating family dynamics that are both exasperating and exhilarating in contrast.

How’s The Characterization?

Tim is such a mess and you guys I loved it. I love when he owns the mistakes that he has made and just mans up and deals with the responsibilities. I think I might have liked Tim more than Jase. CRAZY I KNOW.

As for Alice, she’s the ish. For real, she has this other guy who is into her, Bradley, but he’s a tool. Anyways. She is fantastic because she is a nursing student and working really hard to make her way into the world. She’s also an awesome sister. And she’s effortlessly cool. And kind, too. There’s a certain scene involving sneakers that I quite enjoyed.

How’s The Romance?

Okay, so Tim is attracted to Alice because she’s beautiful, but also because she’s smart and hardworking and awesome. She is also attracted to Tim but won’t admit it because he’s younger and because she could certainly do better. AND OMG IT IS THE RESISTANCE ROMANCE WITHOUT BEING CREEPY AND WEIRD. You guys! THIS BOOK THO.

What Did I Think Of The Narration?

I kind of marathon listened to this book. The narrators are MacLeod Andrews and Jorjeana Marie. I’ve never heard Jorjeana Marie’s narration before but she did so well with this audiobook of The Boy Most Likely To that I want to check out her body of work. Of course if you like narrators who embody their characters and the book without sounding like weirdos, these narrators fit the bill. If you’re in a time crunch but desperate for some Huntley Fitzpatrick writing in your life GET THIS AUDIOBOOK. It has me in caps over here.

Sum It Up With A GIF:

HEART EYES EMOJI!

five-stars
About April (Books&Wine)

April is 28 years old and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. In her free time she can be found reading, working out, or eating junk food. She often wears her sunglasses at night.

Trackbacks

  1. […] Books & Good Wine reviews The Boy Most Likely To, by Huntley Fitzpatrick, narrated by MacLeod Andrews and Jorjeana […]

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: