The Interrupted Tale by Maryrose Wood | Audiobook Review

The Interrupted Tale by Maryrose Wood | Audiobook ReviewThe Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book IV by Maryrose Wood
Also by this author: The The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book V
Series: The Incorrigible Children Of Ashton Place #4
Also in this series: The The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book V
Narrator: Katherine Kellgren
Length: 8 Hours 19 Minutes
Published by HarperCollins on 2013-12-17
Genres: Animals, Humorous Stories, Mysteries & Detective Stories, Wolves & Coyotes, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

For fans of Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart’s Mysterious Benedict Society comes the fourth book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood.In The Interrupted Tale, Miss Penelope Lumley receives an invitation to speak at the annual Celebrate Alumnae Knowledge Exposition (or CAKE) at the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females. Optoomuchstic as ever, Penelope hopes to give her CAKE talk, see some old friends, and show off the Incorrigible children to Miss Mortimer, but instead she finds her beloved school in an uproar.And when Penelope is asked by the Swanburne Academy board of trustees to demonstrate the academic progress of her three wolfish students so the board can judge the true worth of a Swanburne education, the future of her alma mater—and of her job as governess to the Incorrigibles—hangs in the balance.

Why Did I Listen To This Book?

I am really invested in the Incorrigible Children Of Ashton Place series by Maryrose Wood. I’ve physically read two books in this series, listened to one book and thus, decided that because I don’t really have the time to physically read The Interrupted Tale, fourth in the series, I might as well listen to it. Also, the Incorrigibles were raised by wolves and they are way more awesome in audiobook form because Katherine Kellgren brings such life to the characters. Basically, I chose this book to listen to because I KNEW it would be a great listen and something that would bring me joy.

What’s The Story Here?

The Interrupted Tale follows Lumawoo, or Penelope Lumley the governess of the wild Incorrigible Children as she revisits the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females and discovers that change is afoot. You see, the academy has some new members on its board who are making some pretty terrible changes. It’s up to Penelope and the children to figure out why Swanburne has changed so much. Oh and Penelope comes back to Swanburne because she’s been invited to be a speaker for CAKE which does not mean the dessert. Meanwhile, Cassiopea discovers she might like to be a governess. The boys, Alexander and Beowulf are still wild as usual. The Ashtons are still horrible people, but I think I might be developing a soft spot for them. Oh yes, and we get to see a certain horrible judge again and a certain dashing hero. It’s quite the wonderful story.

What Did I Think Of The Series Development?

I really like the direction that Maryrose Wood is taking The Incorrigible Children Of Ashton Place series. I loved uncovering more about Penelope’s mysterious past. I love that there is a romance developing but not so much as to overwhelm the story or turn kids off. I like that more secrets about the Ashtons are being revealed. I kind of hope that the series wraps up kind of soon because it is feeling a little bit drawn out. Like, I personally just want to know what the deal is with the Incorrigibles and if they are related to Penelope, ya know? Like there’s all these big huge hints being dropped but seeing as how I can be oblivious, I just want to know for sure what is what.

Who Should Listen To This Series?

  • People with an interest in orphan children
  • People who know what it’s like to be raised by wolves
  • Families
  • Katherine Kellgren Fan Club Members
  • Elementary School Children
  • People who like tips of the hat
  • People looking for a FUN audiobook series
  • People who don’t take themselves TOO seriously

How Is The Narration?

Katherine Kellgren is my audiobook narrator queen, ruling with Nick Podehl, I swear, those two are my favorites. So, really, as guessed, this narration is flawless. Kellgren gets so into it that sometimes I would have to turn my audiobook down because it becomes kind of embarrassing when she’s howling and talking in voices and people are like, what even are you listening to in your office. Whatever, though, Kellgren is perfect and continues to impress me in the audiobook of The Interrupted Tale by Maryrose Wood.

Sum It Up With A GIF:

I basically want to hug this series! <3

five-stars
About April (Books&Wine)

April is 28 years old and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. In her free time she can be found reading, working out, or eating junk food. She often wears her sunglasses at night.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: