Murder For Christmas by Francis Duncan | DNF Review

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Murder For Christmas by Francis Duncan | DNF ReviewMurder for Christmas by Francis Duncan
Series: Mordecai Tremaine #1
on October 10th 2017
Genres: Fiction, Mystery & Detective, Traditional, Classics, Historical
Pages: 352
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9781492651710
Goodreads
dnf

The first book in a classic Golden Age mystery series perfect for fans of Agatha Christie's Hercule Poirot

When Mordecai Tremaine arrives at the country retreat of one Benedict Grame on Christmas Eve, he discovers that the revelries are in full swing in the sleepy village of Sherbroome—but so too are tensions amongst the assortment of guests.

When midnight strikes, the partygoers discover that presents aren't the only things nestled under the tree...there's a dead body too. A dead body that bears a striking resemblance to Father Christmas. With the snow falling and suspicions flying, it's up to Mordecai to sniff out the culprit—and prevent anyone else from getting murder for Christmas.

Murder for Christmas is a festive mystery for the holiday season: mulled wine, mince pies... and murder.

Why’d I Pick This Book To Read?

Murder For Christmas by Francis Duncan basically interested me because it’s a vintage Christmas mystery. I loved the cover. Vintage things do sort of interest me. Also, I just really love reading books about Christmas. I thought this would be a nice break from all of the Christmas romances that I tend to binge on. Maybe old school mysteries are just not in my wheelhouse unless they are written by Agatha Christie.

What’s The Story Here?

I guess Murder For Christmas is a story that follows this older gentleman detective named Mordecai Tremaine. So the book opens and there’s a scream. Then it shifts to some woman who is meeting up with her lover only her adoptive dad doesn’t seem to like him. Also she has an uncle from what I remember? Then we go into Mordecai Tremaine driving into the little town and getting lost. Eventually he finds out where he is and goes to the house where he is staying which is owned by the girl’s uncle and he’s at this dinner party. And well, there is supposed to be a murder happening at some point I guess, maybe during that opening scene?

How Long Did I Last?

19%

Why Did I DNF?

Okay SO I ended up DNFing this book because it was boring. It felt like in the almost 20% of the book I read, nothing happened. Don’t get me wrong I do not mind a slow build. This was just a little too slow to me. Also while it’s cool that Mordecai Tremaine enjoys romantic novels and sentimentality, he kind of squicked me out a little. I mean all of the female characters are reduced to how appealing they are in his gaze. I just can’t get behind that or into that. When it comes to these sorts of books I like when women are fully fleshed out and interesting. I suppose that could happen later on but I could not be bothered to read further.

Is There Anyone Murder For Christmas Would Appeal To?

I think that this book could potentially appeal to people who don’t mind books with an old timey feel and can get past the parts where it seems like Tremaine is just there to oogle women and decide how likely they are to go for him. Meh.

Other reviews of Murder For Christmas by Francis Duncan:

Support Good Books & Good Wine with your purchase or preview of Murder For Christmas:

dnf
About April (Books&Wine)

April is 30 years old and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and baby, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Comments

  1. Well I understand why you didn’t finish. However who knows if the action would improve after those 20%? Personally I didn’t finish only 2 or 3 books in all my life!
    But at least you did not waste time in something that you are not interested in 🙂

    kiss

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: