Spending the Holidays with People I Want to Punch in the Throat by Jen Mann | Book Review

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Spending the Holidays with People I Want to Punch in the Throat by Jen Mann | Book ReviewSpending the Holidays with People I Want to Punch in the Throat by Jen Mann
Also by this author: People I Want to Punch in the Throat
Published by Random House Publishing Group on October 13th 2015
Genres: Humor, Form, Essays, Biography & Autobiography, Personal Memoirs, Topic, Marriage & Family
Pages: 224
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9780804176293
Goodreads
five-stars

For fans of Laurie Notaro and Jenny Lawson comes an uproarious and oddly endearing essay collection for anyone trying to survive the holidays in one piece.   When it comes to time-honored holiday traditions, Jen Mann pulls no punches
In this hilariously irreverent collection of essays, Jen Mann, nationally bestselling author of People I Want to Punch in the Throat, turns her mordant wit on the holidays. On Mann’s naughty list: mothers who go way overboard with their Elf on the Shelf, overzealous carolers who can’t take a hint, and people who write their Christmas cards in the third person (“Joyce is enjoying Bunko. Yeah, Joyce, we know you wrote this letter.”). And on her nice list . . . well, she’s working on that one. Here, no celebration is off-limits. The essays include:
• You Can Keep Your Cookies, I’m Just Here for the Booze• Nice Halloween Costume. Was Skank Sold Out?• Why You Won’t Be Invited to Our Chinese New Year Party From hosting an ill-fated Chinese New Year party, to receiving horrible gifts from her husband on Mother’s Day, to reluctantly telling her son the truth about the Easter Bunny, Mann knows the challenge of navigating the holidays while keeping her sanity intact. And even if she can’t get out of attending another Christmas cookie exchange, at least she can try again next year.
Advance praise for Spending the Holidays with People I Want to Punch in the Throat   “Jen Mann understands that wanting to be a good person and yearning to punch the deserving in the throat aren’t mutually exclusive. At no time is this more evident than during the holidays. Buy this book if you’re a fan of not spending the holidays behind bars.”—Jen Lancaster, author of I Regret Nothing   Praise for People I Want to Punch in the Throat   “Jen Mann says the things we’re all too afraid to say. Her honest and hilarious writing style reminds me of David Sedaris and Tina Fey.”—Robin O’Bryant, author of Ketchup Is a Vegetable   “Comedy gold . . . Reading her stories is like riding a waterslide: fast, direct and unpredictable.”—New York Daily News   “Will make you cringe and burst out laughing at the same time.”—Karen Alpert, author of I Heart My Little A-Holes
From the Trade Paperback edition.

Last year I read Jen Mann’s People I Want To Punch In The Throat and had plenty of moments where I laughed and laughed on end, despite not being a suburban mom because douchey people are the same no matter where you go. So, of course, I absolutely KNEW that I needed to read Spending the Holidays with People I Want to Punch in the Throat: Yuletide Yahoos, Ho-Ho-Humblebraggers, and Other Seasonal Scourges which is essentially the longest title of all time ever, but you guys, this book is actually funnier than her first one. WHAT! I know! So, yeah, add this to your Christmas cart and get your read on.

Spending The Holidays With People I Want To Punch In The Throat is a collection of essays by Mann about various aspects of the holidays that she is maybe not the biggest fan of – like Elf On The Shelf or Christmas Carolers, as well as other holidays like Halloween and how some people wear inappropriate costumes to a family-oriented Halloween Party and rather than being slut shaming, she admits there is a time and place for it and at adult parties, it would be hilarious.

The majority of Mann’s latest book is spent discussing Christmas, thus making it the perfect pick for December and our 25 Days Of Christmas themed books (which she would probably want to punch in the throat, but hey we all do what we like). In short, I loved this book. I mean, maybe some of you can remember the internet of yore, when Mann went viral for her Elf On The Shelf rant post, expect a bit more of that, just kind of toned down. She’s excellent.

If you’re looking for a book that is absolutely no holds barred, Spending The Holidays With People I Want To Punch In The Throat is that book. It is super funny – and does not shy away from the absurd. For instance, there is an essay with a woman who wears a suggestive costume (not sexy, but combined with her partner’s costume implies sex) who gets upset with Jen because her son “Gomer” comes to the understanding of what the woman and her husband’s costume mean and thus knows what sex is. It’s just so funny that she gets up in arms about how Gomer has that knowledge.

Also? At one point Jen mentions that the best present she ever got was like a blanket muumuu from her grandmother that’s all warm and covers her head as well, and you guys it sounds like an upgraded snuggie and I want one. Like, even though I do not have kids, I could certainly relate. At one point she even says she’s got different yoga pants for every day of the week and expresses excitement about getting a washing machine for Christmas. I HAVE BEEN THERE – like, I even posted a picture of the maiden voyage of the washing machine received for Christmas on facebook. I absolutely related to this book and think that you’ll be able to find something to relate to with Spending The Holidays With People I Want To Punch In The Throat too.

On A Scale Of One To Buddy The Elf, How Much Christmas Spirit Does This Book Have?

So, okay, I can’t decide if this book is more of a Scrooge or a Grinch. I mean, sure Mann seems to like the holidays but just can’t be bothered with Clark Griswold-ing her house, at least not until the neighbors across the street do. So, it is more of the Grinch but a reasonable Grinch who understands that certain things are mad annoying and for real, overachieving is HARD.

Support Good Books & Good Wine

five-stars
About April (Books&Wine)

April is 28 years old and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. In her free time she can be found reading, working out, or eating junk food. She often wears her sunglasses at night.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: