The Unmapped Sea by Maryrose Wood | Audiobook Review

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Unmapped Sea by Maryrose Wood | Audiobook ReviewThe The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book V by Maryrose Wood
Also by this author: The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book IV
Series: The Incorrigible Children Of Ashton Place #5
Also in this series: The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book IV
Narrator: Katherine Kellgren
Length: 9 Hours 20 Minutes
Published by Harper Collins on April 21st 2015
Genres: Animals, Humorous Stories, Mysteries & Detective Stories, Wolves & Coyotes, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Format: Audiobook
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

For fans of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society, here comes the fifth book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood.Lord Fredrick Ashton may not feel ready to be a father, but with a little Ashton on the way, he's sure about one thing: The wolfish curse on his family must end soon, before the child is born. Penelope willingly takes on the challenge; when Lady Constance's doctor prescribes a seaside holiday, Penelope jumps at the chance to take the three Incorrigible children to Brighton, where she hopes to persuade the old sailor Pudge to reveal what he knows about the Ashton curse.But the Ashtons are not the only ones at the beach in January. The passionately temperamental Babushkinov family is also taking the winter waters. The Incorrigible children may have been raised by wolves, but the Babushkinov children are the wildest creatures they've ever seen. Is it more than mere coincidence that these untamed children have turned up in Brighton just as Penelope and the Incorrigibles arrive?

Why Did I Listen To This Book?

I really love The Incorrigible Children Of Ashton Place series. It’s so much fun and one of those series that makes me love middle grade. Part of the reason I am so into this series is that I’ve listened to the vast majority of with the exception of one or two books. I absolutely could not resist Katherine Kellgren’s narration and so immediately listened to the audiobook of The Unmapped Sea by Maryrose Wood, the next in the saga of Penelope Lumley and the children raised by wolves who now live at Ashton Place.

What’s The Story Here?

In this book, Lady Constance Ashton is in a delicate condition. She is pregnant. And so, to feel better, the doctor has recommended a holiday by the sea. She is under the impression that she will be going to Italy. However, because Lord Ashton is cheap, they end up going to Brighton Beach which is in England and it’s winter, so it is super cold outside. The entire Ashton household argues over not going but in the end, Penelope Lumley and the wards – Cassiopeia, Alexander, and Beowulf end up going on the beach vacation. The destination is virtually empty except for the Babushkinov family – who are from Russia and see Brighton Beach as being positively tropical in comparison to cold Russia. Meanwhile, Penelope tries to convince Pudge, Simon’s uncle I think, to reveal a secret in regards to the Ashton family – this secret may be the key to solving the curse that plagues Lord Frederick Ashton. The plot of The Unmapped Sea by Maryrose Wood is zany as per usual and I would not have it any other way when it comes to The Incorrigible Children Of Ashton Place series.

How’s The Characterization?

I love how funny the characterization is in this series. Of course, Lady Constance is still portrayed as a self centered nitwit. No apologies. Lord Frederick Ashton is also kind of self centered, but then we see how he really does care about Lady Constance. We also see how he begins to develop a soft spot for the children. Penelope is still the best governess ever. AND THERE IS A SECRET that involves her and the Ashtons. AND ALSO! There’s this seashell that reveals who the characters that touch it love and of course, Penelope reveals her crush and it is super adorable. As for the children, they are adorable as always. AND THEN! The Russian children are pretty great also – all of their parts are a riot.

How’s The Narration?

Truly, Katherine Kellgren is an artist when it comes to her narration. I mean, I listened to this while driving and was positively in stitches. She puts on full accents and so when she does the Russian parts she’s got that strong stereotypical accent. And then she does the voices for all of the characters and it is so consistent throughout the series. These are books that you should absolutely listen to on audio, it’s such an experience. AND they are perfect for a road trip with kids because they will charm and amuse everyone in the car.

Sum It Up With A GIF:

Stereotypical Russians all up in this ish.

four-stars
About April (Books&Wine)

April is 28 years old and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. In her free time she can be found reading, working out, or eating junk food. She often wears her sunglasses at night.

Comments

  1. My coworker loves these books, too! I read the first one years and years ago and loved it. But I haven’t read any more. I even picked this one up at BEA this year. I think I need to try the audios thought. I love an excellently narrated audiobook!
    Quinn @ Quinn’s Book Nook recently posted..Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far In 2015My Profile

  2. Thanks for this review! I love this series on audio, too, and hadn’t realized that this one was available. Currently downloading 🙂
    Jen Robinson recently posted..Fraidyzoo: Thyra HederMy Profile

Trackbacks

  1. […] Books and Good Wine reviews The Unmapped Sea, by Maryrose Wood, narrated by Katherine […]

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: