Darius & Twig by Walter Dean Myers | Book Review

I have had Darius & Twig by Walter Dean Myers on my shelf for years. Oddly enough I never ended up unhauling it, as I really did intend to read it someday. Well, that day has come! You see, I have been prioritizing reading more diversely and then un-hauling those books and getting them into the […]

5 Verse Books For Beginners

I used to be really intimidated by books that are in verse. You see, I thought maybe I wouldn’t like them as they didn’t follow typical prose structure. Yet as it turns out, once I gave them a shot, I was hooked. These five books are excellent for anyone looking to dip a toe into […]

Summer At Lake Haven by RaeAnne Thayne | Book Review

A few years ago, I got really sucked into RaeAnne Thayne’s Haven Point series. I binge read book after book from the series and got used to the format which basically was Christmas set book, spring/summer set book and repeat. So, when I saw Summer At Lake Haven was coming up and I guess wrapping the series, I […]

When The Stars Lead To You by Ronni Davis | Book Review

I love a good contemporary book, especially when the comparisons are in the vein of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen. When The Stars Lead To You by Ronni Davis was a single day read for me. Davis’s debut kept me compelled from page 1 to page 394. I did see that not everyone felt the same […]

Be More Chill: The Graphic Novel by Ned Vizzini | Review

Why Did I Read Be More Chill: The Graphic Novel by Ned Vizzini? Previously, I’ve read two books by Ned Vizzini – Teen Angst, Nahhh and The Other Normals. Be More Chill is one of his more famous books, but I’ve not yet read it. The graphic novel adaptation showed up in my mailbox, so I figured it […]

Lore by Alexandra Bracken | Book Review

I love Alexandra Bracken’s versatility in her speculative fiction writing. From time traveling to fiber arts magic to Greek gods and hunters, she really can flex that creative muscle. Lore is Alexandra Bracken’s latest. It’s a bit of a door stopper, but do not let that stop you from reading this excellent story. I have […]