Super Fake Love Song by David Yoon | Audiobook Review

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Super Fake Love Song by David Yoon | Audiobook ReviewSuper Fake Love Song by David Yoon
Narrator: Micheel Bow
Length: 9 Hours 3 Minutes
Published by Penguin on November 17, 2020
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, People & Places, United States, Asian American, Romance, Contemporary, Family, Parents
Pages: 368
Format: Audiobook, eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9781984812247
Goodreads
five-stars

From the New York Times bestselling author of Frankly in Love comes a young adult romantic comedy about identity and acceptance. Perfect for fans of John Green and To All the Boys I've Love Before.
When Sunny Dae--self-proclaimed total nerd--meets Cirrus Soh, he can't believe how cool and confident she is. So when Cirrus mistakes Sunny's older brother Gray's bedroom--with its electric guitars and rock posters--for Sunny's own, he sort of, kind of, accidentally winds up telling her he's the front man of a rock band.
Before he knows it, Sunny is knee-deep in the lie: He ropes his best friends into his scheme, begging them to form a fake band with him, and starts wearing Gray's rock-and-roll castoffs. But no way can he trick this amazing girl into thinking he's cool, right? Just when Sunny is about to come clean, Cirrus asks to see them play sometime. Gulp.
Now there's only one thing to do: Fake it till you make it.

Why Did I Listen To Super Fake Love Song?

Books that involve music might as well be my catnip. I love them! Granted, Super Fake Love Song by David Yoon is not entirely based around music but it plays a role. Also, the audiobook was on Volumes and appealed to me because I knew I could get to it faster via audio. Plus, there’s the fact that it is contemporary and lately I just find contemporary so much easier to follow via audio.

What’s The Story Here?

Super Fake Love Song stars Sunny Dae, a teenage boy who is a total nerd. I mean, he is so much of a nerd that he has this Youtube channel with his best friends where they make cosplay weapons for LARPing. They also play Dungeons and Dragons. Needless to say, Sunny is not popular at school. There’s this new girl at his school named Cirrus and she is so cool and confident.

She comes over to Sunny’s house and she ends up thinking that his older brother Gray’s room is his. Gray was a musician in high school and quite cool. So, because Sunny is super into Cirrus, he leans into her assumptions and fakes being in a band with his best friends. He starts wearing Gray’s old clothes and actually does form the band with his friends. Will his lies catch up to him though? Because really, at heart, he’s into the whole cosplay/LARP thing.

How Did I Like Super Fake Love Song?

This is the first book I’ve read from David Yoon and I genuinely loved it. Sunny Dae is such a good kid and a great protagonist. While it was shady to lie to Cirrus, I admire his dedication to impressing her. I also liked the development of the relationship between Sunny, Gray, and their parents. And don’t even get me started on Sunny’s friendships! I LOVED THEM!

How’s The Narration?

The audiobook is narrated by Micheel Bow and is 9 hours 3 minutes long. This was my first time also listening to an audiobook narrated by Micheel Bow but won’t be my last. He’s very believable as a teenage boy. I thought that the audiobook was well paced and actually kept my attention the whole way through. I’d absolutely recommend this audiobook if you’re interested in giving Super Fake Love Song a shot.

five-stars
The following two tabs change content below.
April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.
About April (Books&Wine)

April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: