It Started With Christmas by Jenny Hale | Book Review

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

It Started With Christmas by Jenny Hale | Book ReviewIt Started with Christmas by Jenny Hale
Published by Grand Central Publishing on September 24, 2019
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Holiday, Contemporary, Clean & Wholesome, Women, Small Town & Rural
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9781538716441
Goodreads
four-stars

From the USA Today bestselling author of the upcoming Hallmark Original movie Christmas Wishes and Mistletoe Kisses, discover the joy of Christmas and the magic of falling in love in a "sweet small-town romance" (Publishers Weekly) perfect for fans of Jill Shalvis, Debbie Macomber, and Susan Mallery.Holly McAdams loves spending the Christmas holidays at her family's cozy cabin, with its little red door and twinkling lights, tucked in the snowy hills outside Nashville. But this year will be different. Someone unexpected is joining them...After Holly and her beloved Nana struggle through a snow storm to reach the cabin, they discover gorgeous and wealthy Joseph Barnes, who has been renting the cabin for the last few weeks, is now snowed in. And it looks like he'll be staying for the holidays.Determined to make the best of the surprise situation, Holly tries to bring everyone together by baking delicious treats and decorating the cabin with plenty of festive sparkle. She finds herself growing close to handsome Joseph, who is unlike anyone she's ever met before, even if Nana isn't so keen on the dashing stranger with the mysterious past.But charming and irresistible musician Rhett Burton is also back in town. Thrown into close proximity with the person who used to be her best friend and the man who broke her heart, Holly realizes it's time to face her feelings and figure out what she really wants from her life. But to complicate things, both Joseph and Rhett have secrets to reveal...Will Holly be able to find herself and the love she's always dreamed of this Christmas?

It Started With Christmas by Jenny Hale was essentially a marshmallow dream to read. This is exactly the kind of book that needs a Hallmark movie. Which makes sense, because Jenny Hale has like two Hallmark movies based on her Christmas books already AND I CAN SEE WHY. This is a book to soothe your soul with its gentleness.

So, It Started With Christmas follows Holly who travels to the family cabin which is not being rented out during the week of Christmas. Her Nana decides she wants to spend Christmas at the cabin which from what I gather is just outside Nashville. Anyways, the two get to the cabin and as it turns out, the renter, Joe, has not left yet because of the snow storm.

The three end up snowed in together. Holly’s going to try her best to make this holiday season special for her Nana who is still grieving the death of Papa. Oh and to complicate matters, an old flame/friend is back in town – Rhett.

You know how a lot of Hallmark movies are about the high powered business woman who visits the country and gives up her relationship with another high powered business city man for a guy who wears flannel? Well, this book is the OPPOSITE of that. What I mean is, Holly is a country girl who is a waitress (and she’s great at it). She finds herself falling for Joe, who is the high powered city guy – from the biggest of cities – NYC. Alas, Joe has a secret.

I like that It Started With Christmas flips the trope on its head. I also loved how genuinely kind Holly was. She sees the goodness in Joe. However, she doesn’t act on the attraction because she’s a good person. If you’re looking for a sweet romance with no adult scenes, this is the one. ALSO there’s a part where I had tears running down my face like a goober BECAUSE it gets really emotional.

On A Scale Of One To Buddy The Elf, How Much Christmas Spirit Does It Started With Christmas Have?

Some might call It Started At Christmas saccharine. I call it balm for the work weary soul. You know what, sometimes I just want a book that allows me to take the load off and relax. This is the kind of book that brims with the true spirit of Christmas and kindness. It has sweet characters and a wonderful ending. I was super invested in this book and would happily recommend it. I look forward to diving into more by Jenny Hale and eventually watching the Hallmark movies based on her books.


Some might call It Started At Christmas saccharine. I call it balm for the work weary soul. You know what, sometimes I just want a book that allows me to take the load off and relax.

four-stars
About April (Books&Wine)

April is in her 30s and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and toddler, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: