Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy | Audiobook Review

I received this book for free from Publisher, Library in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy | Audiobook ReviewRamona Blue by Julie Murphy
Also by this author: Side Effects May Vary, Dumplin'
Narrator: Therese Plummer
Length: 10 Hours
Published by HarperCollins on May 9th 2017
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Romance, LGBT, Coming of Age, Social Themes, Dating & Sex
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover, Audiobook, eARC
Source: Publisher, Library
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9780062418371
Goodreads
five-stars

From Julie Murphy, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin’ and Side Effects May Vary, comes another fearless heroine, Ramona Blue, in a gorgeously evocative novel about family, friendship, and how sometimes love can be more fluid than you first think. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell and Morgan Matson.

Ramona was only five years old when Hurricane Katrina changed her life forever.

Since then, it’s been Ramona and her family against the world. Standing over six feet tall with unmistakable blue hair, Ramona is sure of three things: she likes girls, she’s fiercely devoted to her family, and she knows she’s destined for something bigger than the trailer she calls home in Eulogy, Mississippi.

But juggling multiple jobs, her flaky mom, and her well-meaning but ineffectual dad forces her to be the adult of the family. Now, with her sister, Hattie, pregnant, responsibility weighs more heavily than ever.

The return of her childhood friend Freddie brings a welcome distraction. Ramona’s friendship with the former competitive swimmer picks up exactly where it left off, and soon he’s talked her into joining him for laps at the pool.

But as Ramona falls in love with swimming, her feelings for Freddie begin to shift too, which is the last thing she expected. With her growing affection for Freddie making her question her sexual identity, Ramona begins to wonder if perhaps she likes girls and guys or if this new attraction is just a fluke.

Either way, Ramona will discover that, for her, life and love are more fluid than they seem.

Why Did I Listen To Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy?

Honestly, all of Julie Murphy’s books are treasures. Sorry but if you didn’t like Dumplin I don’t even know how to talk to you as a person. The catalyst for reading Ramona Blue was basically that it was staring me in the face on the shelf by my bed. It also was just looking at me from my Overdrive wishlist. Bless audiobooks you guys because I finally listened to Ramona Blue and it was as special and excellent as I predicted and hoped it would be.

What’s The Story Here?

Ramona Blue is about this girl named Ramona whose life, much like Alexander Hamilton’s, changed when a hurricane came. Granted, for her it was Hurricane Katrina and she was five years old. Anyways, her parents ended up splitting and it is now Ramona, her sister Hattie, and her father who live together in a trailer in a park.  Their mother works at a casino and flits in and out of their lives. So, Ramona is into girls and she strictly thinks that is it for her. Then a blast from the past, Freddie, comes back into her life and she starts to have feelings for him too and question her sexuality. Meanwhile, Ramona’s sister Hattie is pregnant.

How Did I Like Ramona Blue?

Okay so I love this book. That’s what you need to know. And I would recommend it over and over again. One thing I truly enjoyed was that it lacked all that sanctimonious I am privileged bullshit in depicting the trailer park. By that I mean, the residents and Ramona were really portrayed with humanity. I liked that Ramona’s family was so loving and just doing the best they can with what they have. They aren’t portrayed as poor because they are lazy or have an addiction or whatever. Instead, it was just a bad turn of luck. I liked that. I just get so sick of books that portray poor people as bad, especially when it seems an author comes from a place of privilege. That’s just a thing that gets under my skin. THIS BOOK THOUGH. It’s charming and emotional and I was invested in Hattie’s baby because duh. And it’s kinda romantic. And I don’t know, it’s just so real.

How’s The Narration?

Therese Plummer’s narration is always a solid listen. At this point, if I see her name as narrator I am going to prioritize it. She does such a decent job bringing Ramona Blue to life. Yes, I listened to this book at a sped up rate, but it was WELL WORTH IT. This is one where I think no matter the form you experience it in, you will likely enjoy your time with it.

Other reviews of Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy:

Click here to support Books & Wine with your purchase or preview of Ramona Blue:

five-stars
About April (Books&Wine)

April is 30 years old and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and baby, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: