Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton | Audiobook Review

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton | Audiobook ReviewSeeker by Arwen Elys Dayton
Series: Seeker #1
Narrator: Katharine McEwan
Length: 13 Hours 13 Minutes
Published by Random House Children's Books on February 10th 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, Friendship, Science Fiction, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 448
Format: Audiobook
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
two-stars

"Fans of Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Marie Lu’s Legend, and Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games series: your next obsession has arrived."-School Library Journal   The night Quin Kincaid takes her Oath, she will become what she has trained to be her entire life. She will become a Seeker. This is her legacy, and it is an honor.   As a Seeker, Quin will fight beside her two closest companions, Shinobu and John, to protect the weak and the wronged. Together they will stand for light in a shadowy world.   And she'll be with the boy she loves--who's also her best friend.   But the night Quin takes her Oath, everything changes.   Being a Seeker is not what she thought. Her family is not what she thought. Even the boy she loves is not who she thought.   And now it's too late to walk away."In this powerful beginning to a complex family saga...Dayton excels at creating memorable characters."-Publishers WeeklyFrom the Hardcover edition.

Why Did I Listen To This Book?

I listened to Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton because the narrator, Katharine McEwan narrated one of my favorite audiobooks last year — A Mad Wicked Folly and so I figured because I liked the narrator this would be a good listen. Also? The synopsis sounds so cool — people wielding weapons and family drama spanning generations? Yes please! Unfortunately, I was ultimately disappointed.

What’s The Story Here?

So there’s this girl named Quin Kincaid who is training to become a seeker on this Scottish estate with her distant cousin Alastair and her boyfriend, John. Quin is all pumped up to be a seeker because she thinks it means running around setting things to rights and being the left arm of justice. Unfortunately, reality sets in and she learns that it really means being an assassin. Lots and lots of drama occurs. The chapters span various points of views. There’s deaths. There’s revolts. There’s this magical weapon called an afirme. Unfortunately, there is just a little bit TOO much going on for me. I found myself lost and confused for the whole book. Perhaps part of that is because I listened to the audiobook so it’s easier for my attention to wander, but I also just think that naturally this is a book that will make your attention wander.

How’s The World Building?

I was hopeful that the word building would be excellent and make me want to start a fan club for this series. Alas, I just find myself confused and asking what just happened here. I will take some of the blame for not being that into this book and for not paying attention as well as I honestly COULD have. However, some of the blame also lies with Seeker for not holding my attention. If you want a richly imagined, detailed world this is probably not the book for you.

How’s The Narration?

Katharine McEwan is flawless and is not the issue here.

Sum It Up With A GIF:

On fleek as always, Will Smith.

two-stars
About April (Books&Wine)

April is 30 years old and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. April always has a book on hand. In her free time she can be found binge watching The Office with her husband and baby, spending way too much time on Pinterest or exploring her neighborhood.

Comments

  1. I keep seeing the word ‘confusing’ in reviews for this and it’s making me sad. I was hoping this would be as good as it sounds, but I think I’m going to skip it. At the narrator is a good fit!
    Michelle @ In Libris Veritas recently posted..Review: Dead Spots by Rhiannon FraterMy Profile

  2. I have a egalley of this and… yeah, your confusion? I had the same ones trying to read it. I just couldn’t get into it, felt no real connection to anything, didn’t really “get” where the story was going. I think it had amazing potential but overall fell really really flat. I think I made it about 3/4 through before finally having to give up. I hate that I couldn’t finish it, but it was just like pulling teeth to read and I wasn’t comprehending any of it. Oh well…
    Candice @ The Grown-Up YA recently posted..I feel wee tadpoles jumping in my spineMy Profile

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: