Blood Of My Blood by Barry Lyga | Audiobook Review

I received this book for free from Publisher, Purchased in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blood Of My Blood by Barry Lyga | Audiobook ReviewBlood of My Blood by Barry Lyga
Series: Jasper Dent #3
Narrator: Charlie Thurston
Published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers on 2014-09-09
Genres: Boys & Men, Family, Mysteries & Detective Stories, Young Adult
Pages: 480
Format: Audiobook
Source: Publisher, Purchased
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Jazz Dent has been shot and left to die in New York City. His girlfriend Connie is in the clutches of Jazz's serial killer father, Billy. And his best friend Howie is bleeding to death on the floor of Jazz's own home in tiny Lobo's Nod. Somehow, these three must rise above the horrors their lives have become and find a way to come together in pursuit of Billy. But then Jazz crosses a line he's never crossed before, and soon the entire country is wondering: "Like father, like son?" Who is the true monster?

The chase is on, and beyond Billy there lurks something much, much worse. Prepare to meet...the Crow King.

Why Did I Listen To This Book?

I am definitely the kind of person who has to be continuous with the formats of books that I read — so if I start a series in audio, I have to continue the series in audio (which also explains why I feel devastated when audiobook rights sometimes do not continue in series). A few years ago, I had purchased the audiobook of I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga from Audible after reading some incredibly positive reviews of the book. I Hunt Killers was not in my review pile, but I knew that it was something I would really, really enjoy and so, audio seemed the most feasible way of getting to read it. What a great choice! Charlie Thurston, the narrator, really embodies the story and does such a fantastic job. I continued the series on audio and have not looked back with regret. I purchased the audiobook of Blood Of My Blood, the last in the Jasper Dent trilogy, the day that it came out and immediately began listening. I was desperate for this audiobook, and yes, I did end up completely satisfied. Also? It was perfect for the Autumn season where I like to read darker, more macabre books.

What’s The Story Here?

Blood Of My Blood by Barry Lyga picks up exactly where Game leaves off. Jasper Dent has been shot and left for dead in New York City. His girlfriend Connie has been abducted. Howie is bleeding out. So, the gang is all separated. Time is of the essence as Jazz hunts down Billy and his partner. The story takes on several point of views as we come crashing toward the end. The three — Jazz, Connie, and Howie are really going to have to work together to catch Billy Dent once and for all. Meanwhile, this is all very high profile and so the nation, or rather the media and the law enforcement, begin to speculate on whether Jazz is just like his serial killer father. It’s a massively intense story and I am being 100% serious when I say that the intensity absolutely does not let up for even a second. The series, already dark, also goes to some very dark places which made me quite uncomfortable, but was still worth reading.

How Is The Characterization?

Frankly, I loved that we really got a lot of Connie with this book. I don’t know — I just really liked her character and liked that she seems more fully realized in this book. I also LOVED Howie’s character. He is this great comic relief when the book starts to get really serious — however, Howie also has his serious moments as well, like when he asks Jazz for more tattoos. I will also say that Jazz’s development is pitch perfect. He goes through some incredibly low moments and things that you just can’t easily bounce back from. His character is dark and flawed and it’s just so well written. I am impressed with how his development plays out over the series, as a whole.

How Does This Book Wrap The Trilogy Up?

I enjoyed how Blood Of My Blood wraps the trilogy up. You know how some books that are supposed to end a trilogy have a bullshit ending, so there’s room for the money grab of more books in the series? Not so with this one. The ending is bittersweet justice. We get to see Jazz, Howie, and Connie in the future and what happens after all the really huge events go down. I actually liked having an epilogue with this book. I liked that all of my questions were answered. I liked that my stomach was turned by some of the big reveals. I liked that this book isn’t afraid to go to a taboo place with the ending. It really ties the whole series together, which I think is ultimately what a good conclusion book should do — tie everything up with a neat bow and weave together the big picture.

How’s The Narration?

Charlie Thurston performs the narration of Barry Lyga’s Blood Of My Blood as expected. I mean, I have listened to his narration for the previous two books so I knew what to expect. I knew that his voicing of Billy Dent would be apt and creepy. I knew his narration of Jazz would make me empathize with him. I knew his narration of Howie would prove endearing. He really takes this book to the next level with his narration and I cannot recommend this series in audiobook enough. It is the sort of audiobook that you keep listening to even when you have finished driving and doing chores.

Who Would I Recommend This Book To?

  • People who like to be thrilled
  • People with strong stomachs
  • People who don’t mind going to dark places
  • People who are fascinated by serial killers
  • Fans of Silence Of The Lambs and Criminal Minds

Sum It Up With A GIF:

Silence of the lambs gif

Hannibal Lector and Billy Dent could seriously compete for who is more creepy.

five-stars
About April (Books&Wine)

April is 28 years old and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. In her free time she can be found reading, working out, or eating junk food. She often wears her sunglasses at night.

Comments

  1. Seriously, Charlie Thurston was the PERFECT narrator for these books. I really love Howie, too, and the comic relief he brings the story. And who, is comic relief needed in this one. Talk about intense. And I loved getting to know Connie more in this book too. Basically I just loved this whole series!
    Quinn @ Quinn’s Book Nook recently posted..Book Haul #72My Profile

  2. I’m so glad you liked book 3! I absolutely loved book 1, but was meh over 2. After reading your review, I’ll pick up 3 for sure!
    Ellen B recently posted..Anna Dressed In Blood ReviewMy Profile

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: