The Inventor’s Secret by Andrea Cremer | Audiobook Review

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Inventor’s Secret by Andrea Cremer | Audiobook ReviewThe Inventor's Secret by Andrea Cremer
Also by this author: Nightshade
Series: The Inventor's Secret #1
Narrator: Leslie Bellair
Length: 7 Hours 34 Minutes
Published by Penguin on 2014-04-22
Genres: Action & Adventure, Colonial & Revolutionary Periods, Dystopian, Historical, United States, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: Audiobook
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

New from Andrea Cremer, the New York Times bestselling author of the Nightshade novels, comes an action-packed alternate-history steampunk adventure. In this world, sixteen-year-old Charlotte and her fellow refugees have scraped out an existence on the edge of Britain’s industrial empire. Though they live by the skin of their teeth, they have their health (at least when they can find enough food and avoid the Imperial Labor Gatherers) and each other. When a new exile with no memory of his escape or even his own name seeks shelter in their camp he brings new dangers with him and secrets about the terrible future that awaits all those who have struggled has to live free of the bonds of the empire’s Machineworks. The Inventor’s Secret is the first book of a YA steampunk series set in an alternate nineteenth-century North America where the Revolutionary War never took place and the British Empire has expanded into a global juggernaut propelled by marvelous and horrible machinery. Perfect for fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners, Cassandra Clare's Clockwork Angel, Scott Westerfeld's Leviathan and Phillip Reeve's Mortal Engines. Praise for THE INVENTOR'S SECRET *

Why Did I Listen To This Book?

So, LOL you guys, I was initially rejected for The Inventor’s Secret by Andrea Cremer on Netgalley and of course, I remember those kinds of things. A few days post-rejection there was a link to a review copy of the audiobook in my email, so it’s kind of like kismet. I decided to listen to this book because I actually really enjoyed Nightshade way back when I read it. I liked how Cremer made werewolves actually seem interesting and how she created all this interesting mythology for that world, also the romance was not half bad. So, when I saw that she was writing steampunk alternative history, I totally had to listen to the audiobook.

What’s The Story Here?

Cremer’s latest series reimagines the world so that the Americans lost the Revolutionary War. In The Inventor’s Secret, the British have this mega-empire which is not really much different from the age of Imperialism. The story stars 16 year old Charlotte who lives in hiding on the outskirts of the empire. She lives as a scrapper with a band of children who form their own ragtag group and of course hide from the British imperialists and press gangs who would force the kids into horrific labor if they found them. One day a boy shows up with no memory of his past and so Charlotte decides to help him find out who he is and why he can’t remember the past, so she goes to this floating city to be a spy and to pretend to be a noble. At least that’s what I remember — I read this book in April and now it’s August.

How’s The World Building?

Well, I do not really read a whole lot of steampunk — however there’s these like robots that look for the kids, or rather that can sense kids from what I remember and I thought that was cool. I mean, cool in that it’s an interesting method of control by the British. I liked the hidey-hole that the kids lived in — it’s kind of like a fort in that from what I think I remember they had to pretty much be buzzed in and there’s security measures. Also, hmmm, there’s a submarine. And there’s travel in a zeppelin I think. Maybe my brain is making this up. But I do remember thinking that the modes of travel in The Inventor’s Secret were cool. Huh, but apparently the world building is not all the memorable as evidenced by this review.

Are There Swoons?

Yes. There’s totally a love triangle involving Charlotte and Ash who is part of her ragtag group and this guy that she meets while she’s pretending to be above her station in life. As you can tell, I do not remember his name. There’s totally a ball too. I think. I am like this positive that there is.

How’s The Narration?

OH! Something I remember! The book is narrated by Leslie Bellair who has a younger sounding kind of voice. Actually, her voice reminded me a lot of Sarah Drew and Jenna Lamia, so if you like those narrators you will like Leslie Bellair. I actually really enjoyed listening to her and thought she had decent pacing, enunciation and character voices for The Inventor’s Secret by Andrea Cremer.

Sum It Up With A GIF:

From what I remember most clearly there’s a ball and that is the best scene. Full disclosure: I could be remembering wrong, but I don’t think so with this.

three-stars
About April (Books&Wine)

April is 28 years old and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. In her free time she can be found reading, working out, or eating junk food. She often wears her sunglasses at night.

Comments

  1. I listened to this book on audio too. What stood out for me was the abrupt ending. They’re about to check out what has happened and bam it’s over. If I get a chance I’ll probably listen to the next book.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: