Dragonbreath Lair Of The Bat Monster by Ursula Vernon Book Review

Dragonbreath Lair Of The Bat Monster by Ursula Vernon Book ReviewDragonbreath #4 by Ursula Vernon
Illustrator: Ursula Vernon
Also by this author: Dragonbreath: Attack Of The Ninja Frogs
Series: Dragonbreath #4
Published by Penguin on March 17th 2011
Genres: Young Adult, Animals, Comics & Graphic Novels, General, Action & Adventure
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9781101476055
Goodreads
three-stars

Danny Dragonbreath is hoping to see lots of cool bats when he and his best friend, Wendell, visit Danny's cousin, a bat specialist in Mexico. But he isn't expecting to get up close and personal with a giant bat monster, who kidnaps Danny and carries him off to her lair! Now nerdy Wendell will finally get a chance to be a hero . . . but only if he can hunt down the bat monster before she permanently adopts Danny as her bat monster baby.
Ursula Vernon has packed the fourth book in this laugh-until-smoke-comes-out-of-your-nose series with fantastic bat facts and hilarity of the highest order. Wimpy Kid fans everywhere will love this decidedly un-wimpy (but often unlucky!) dragon. Perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid and Bad Kitty.
Watch a Video

Dragonbreath Lair Of The Bat Monster by Ursula Vernon is the fourth book in the Dragonbreath graphic novel series aimed at middle graders. The premise of the series is basically that Danny is a dragon who ends up going on all kinds of adventures with his levelheaded BFF Wendell the Iguana, who usually ends up pulling Danny out of scrapes. In Lair Of The Bat Monster Danny and Wendell find a bat trapped in a pool filter. Confused about what to do, they end up in Mexico to see Danny’s cousin Steve, a bat expert. Of course, adventures ensue involving a bat monster and it’s lair.

Lair Of The Bat Monster is full of charming illustrations. They are very round, no sharp lines which are pleasing to my eyes during a Readathon. Also, the illustrations are likely to be appealing to reluctant middle graders, as it seems there are more illustrations woven in than large blocks of words. I think that’s encouraging if you find reading to be a challenge.

A sense of humor is absolutely necessary to read Ursula Vernon’s Lair Of The Bat Monster. Danny Dragonbreath is a pain in the ass who makes dumb decisions, but he’s a kid and he’s hilarious about it. Plus, he finds disgusting things cool — like cannibal bats.

There is lots of science and biology of bat in this Dragonbreath book. It’s totally learning DISGUISED as fun. I like it. I mean, while a kid thinks they are just reading a comic book, they are getting an education too! Really, I wish all of my math and science education could have been between the pages of a comic book.

I read Dragonbreath Lair Of The Bat Monster for the Dewey 24 Hour Readathon. It took me less than an hour to read. Ursula Vernon’s book is perfect for that sort of situation. Also, I’d especially recommend this book to young reluctant male readers looking for something to pick up after Diary Of A Wimpy Kid.

Disclosure: I borrowed this from my local library!

This is a CYBILS book.

Other Reviews of Dragonbreath Lair Of The Bat Monster by Ursula Vernon:

Charlotte’s Library
Great Kid’s Books
Back To Books
The Happy Nappy Bookseller

Purchase Dragonbreath Lair Of The Bat Monster here. In full disclosure that link takes you to the evil, evil Amazon where I’m an associate. A percentage of the proceeds from when you buy crap on there after clicking the link benefits Good Books & Good Wine at NO extra cost to you. HOLLA!

three-stars
About April (Books&Wine)

April is 28 years old and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. In her free time she can be found reading, working out, or eating junk food. She often wears her sunglasses at night.

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge