Human .4 by Mike Lancaster

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Human .4 by Mike Lancaster0.4 by Mike Lancaster
Series: Point 4 #1
Published by Egmont UK on January 1st 2011
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic, Science Fiction
Pages: 288
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9781780310008
Goodreads
four-stars

Plug into a new generation of sci-fi It's a brave new world.
'My name is Kyle Straker. And I don't exist any more.'
So begins the story of Kyle Straker, recorded on to old audio tapes. You might think these tapes are a hoax. But perhaps they contain the history of a past world...If what the tapes say are true, it means that everything we think we know is a lie. And if everything we know is a lie does that mean that we are, too?
0.4 is an apocalyptic science fiction book for teens for fans of War of the Worlds, I am Legend, The Matrix and the X Files.

If you have not ever seen the Twilight Zone circa 1950s, you need to change your life and hop to Netflix instant and watch it. That show is like the grandfather of mind fucks. Every episode has me going what the what? And why would I start off a review of Human .4 by Mike Lancaster talking about The Twilight Zone? WELL, Human .4 is fairly reminiscent of The Twilight Zone, in that your mind will be fucked with and you will find yourself going hmmmm, what the heck just happened. After I finished Human .4, I had to tell my boyfriend about it and discuss the ending and the premise. He pretty much gave me an odd look.

We begin the book with an editor’s note, explaining that what you are about to read is the transcripts of the Kyle Straker tapes. Just like now, tapes are an antiquated technology in the world of Human .4. Unlike today, books are archaic as well. Human .4 then delves into Kyle Straker’s story which is quite odd. You see, Kyle has this pretty normal life (also, they live in England, so the slang is kind of weird), his parents fight a lot, and he has good friends. All of this completely changes when Kyle volunteers to be hypnotized for his friend Danny’s act in the town talent show. Upon waking up from hypnotization, Kyle finds, along with the other three volunteers, life as they know it has completely changed.

It is freaky. I won’t go into spoilers, because half of the fun is in the mind games this book plays. I will also say one of my fears is played on. Hint: Isolation. There are also choices which the characters must make. The choices carry a moderate degree of risk, no matter what they choose, there’s a downside. And I thought that was interesting, that for a certain section, there is no clear choice to make. I liked that.

I was also a fan of how much Human .4 made me think. It may not be the greatest book ever written, but it made me pause and consider, despite taking me about 3 hours to read. It made me consider several what-ifs. And I’d like to think a book that gives one pause is always a good thing. Also: there are Dr. Who references for those of you who go in for that sort of thing.

If you are looking for some science fiction that doesn’t quite feel like science fiction, definitely pick up Mike Lancaster’s Human .4. Especially if like me, you aren’t all that attracted to sci-fi but want to read it so you can fit in with the cool kids, as this is totally sci-fi lite.

Disclosure: Received for review.

Other Reviews of Human .4 by Mike Lancaster:

Helen’s Book Blog
GalleySmith
TenCentNotes
Hobbitsies

Support Good Books & Good Wine:

four-stars
About April (Books&Wine)

April is 28 years old and created Good Books And Good Wine. She works for a non-profit. In her free time she can be found reading, working out, or eating junk food. She often wears her sunglasses at night.

Comments

  1. Yay, this sounds really good! I’ve been hearing about it here and there on Twitter, all with good reviews. Am very attracted to books that make me think, and I personally love a sci-fi element, so this sounds like one I’d like.
    Schuyler Esperanza recently posted..The Hunger Games- Fan Art- Katniss &amp GaleMy Profile

  2. I have 0.4, which is the English version if this. I’m not sure why there are two titles but I find it quite annoying. I loved this book as it feels pretty unique compared to most YA books these days.
    ComaCalm recently posted..Flawless – Lara ChapmanMy Profile

  3. Ooh, ooh, I love mindfuckery! I definitely need to check this book out. Thanks for the review!
    Lauren recently posted..Trip to BEA – Less Than a Week Away!My Profile

  4. this has been in my tbr for awhile, so i’m glad to see a positive review! thanks for keeping me interested in this one…
    lisa recently posted..Review- The Goddess Test Goddess Test 1My Profile

  5. I lovey loved this book! It stayed with me after I finished it – always a plus for me.
    Just noticed your wine glass favicon 🙂 Love it!
    Emily aka WilowRaven recently posted..Book Review- Unearthly by Cynthia HandMy Profile

  6. This has been on my tbr list for quite a while! It sounded so good and this review makes it sound even better!
    Two Readers Reviews recently posted..Review – Ghellow Road by TH WatersMy Profile

  7. Wow, this one never caught my attention before, but after reading your review, I may give it a shot! I am huge into Twilight Zone! Anything compared to that has got to be something good! I also love when books play on our worst fears—like Cryer’s Cross for me…I won’t spoil in case you haven’t read it, but what happens at the end was a biggy for me! I’ll definitely have to check out this book!

  8. Never heard of this book before. Sound eery and captivating. I can just imagine the look your boyfriend gave you and imagine my husband giving me the same odd look when I try to explain something out of the box. lol. Thanks for the review.
    Lena recently posted..Interview with Author Nique RobersonMy Profile

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: