Review of Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway

Review of Audrey, Wait! by Robin BenwayAudrey, Wait! by Robin Benway
Published by Penguin on 2009-04-02
Genres: Dating & Sex, Humorous Stories, Music, Performing Arts, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover
Source: Publisher
Buy the BookGoodreads
Also by this author: The Extraordinary Secrets Of April May And June, Going Rogue: an Also Known As Novel
five-stars
The wait is over for the paperback of this irresistible, fast-paced, hit-worthy debut! When funny, charming, absolutely-normal Audrey Cuttler dumps her boyfriend Evan, he writes a song about her that becomes a number-one hit?and rockets Audrey to stardom! Suddenly, tabloid paparazzi are on her tail and Audrey can barely hang with her friends at concerts or the movies without getting mobbed?let alone score a date with James, her adorable coworker at the Scooper Dooper. Her life will never be the same?at least, not until Audrey confronts Evan live on MTV and lets the world know exactly who she is!

Why, oh why did I wait so long to read Audrey, Wait? Despite having Audrey, Wait by Robin Benway on my shelf since November, I sort of avoided reading this book. It took some goading from Twitter to get me to crack Audrey, Wait! open. Thank goodness I did, because Audrey, Wait! is made of awesome. Sixteen year old Audrey decides her boyfriend Evan just doesn’t cut it anymore, so she breaks it off with him. BIG MISTAKE. Evan, being a rocker decides to write a song inspired by the breakup called Audrey, Wait! and what do you know, the song becomes a number one hit and Audrey finds herself the recipient of unwanted fame.

I think a character’s voice can often make or break a book. If the voice doesn’t sound real, I can tell. I think most readers can tell. What I love is when an author writes a character who sounds like someone you know, they seem that real. Granted, I feel like Robin Benway must have based the character of Audrey on my friend Allie who has said some of the things Audrey says about concert-going, and who is also music obsessed. What I enjoyed about Audrey was how fluent she was in sarcasm, some of what she said had me in stitches. There are so many quotable lines in Audrey Wait by Robin Benway too!

“‘I love music, it’s like…’ I sighed and put the water dish back down. ‘I mean, sometimes it’s like the only thing that matters. Sometimes when I hear a great song, it means more than anything, like even my family or friends or anyone.’” pg. 59

On concert going

“And (2) do not-again, do not-wear any item of clothing that celebrates the band you’re going to see. If you’re seeing Band C, do not wear a Band X T-shirt. As Victoria says, ‘Don’t be That Guy.’” pg. 88

I definitely could see my friend saying that about concerts and actually think she may have said that to me once.

Overall, Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway is a fun book. It makes me want to take all the chapter titles, which are songs and create a playlist to listen to while driving. I am not going to go too specific except to say you should read this book if you want something to lift your spirit and put a giant grin on your face. If you like books that affirm the be yourself philosophy of life, then yes, you are going to love love love Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway.

Other Reviews: of Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway:

Persnickety Snark
Pure Imagination
Brenda Loves Books
The Crooked Shelf

Other Robin Benway Books reviewed:

The Extraordinary Secrets Of April, May And June

five-stars

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Comments

  1. It sounds so much like fun and I'm pretty drawn to it. The brazilian cover is SO gorgeous, by the way. I should definitely buy it in Portuguese, then. Simple but awesome review, thanks! :)

  2. Raíla says:

    It sounds so much like fun and I'm pretty drawn to it. The brazilian cover is SO gorgeous, by the way. I should definitely buy it in Portuguese, then. Simple but awesome review, thanks! :)

  3. Erika Lynn says:

    This book is really cute. I loved it when I read it last summer. I just finished Beige by cecil castellucci and it is similar to Audrey, Wait and I also really liked it.

  4. Linna (21 ♡ pages) says:

    This book sounds so great! Hat synopsis sounds hilarious, I feel really sorry for Audrey. It sounds so uplifting as well :D

  5. Linna (21 ♡ pages) says:

    This book sounds so great! Hat synopsis sounds hilarious, I feel really sorry for Audrey. It sounds so uplifting as well :D

  6. This book sounds worth picking up! Great review!

  7. Alexia561 says:

    Sounds like an awesome read! Love funny, sarcastic characters. So glad you loved it!

  8. The music geek in my MUST have this book!

Trackbacks

  1. [...] about, Awkward feels like one of Meg Cabot’s contemporary books. It will appeal to fans of Audrey, Wait by Robin Benway and the unwanted fame storyline. I love these types of books, they aren’t the most literary, [...]

  2. [...] Audrey, Wait! The Extraordinary Secrets Of April, May And June [...]

Leave a Comment

*

CommentLuv badge